RSS Feed

I’m Disturbed – Talk Me Down?


Yet again, another post that was NOT on my radar! But, stuff happens!

Today I was out running errands and passed our local middle school. They were have a fund-raising car wash, and to attract attention, 2 young guys dressed in speedos wrapped a car wash sign from behind one of them across the front of both of them, then behind the other, giving the illusion that they were butt nekked behind it, then proceeded to gyrate wildly on the corner to the honks and waves of passersbys.

I am far from being a prude, but I am really sensitive to the sexualization of children in this society. The idea that the grown-ups on-site thought this was a good idea astounds me.

I went about my errands, but it continued to bug me, so I swung back and took a picture (feeling like a perv!) so I could text it to a couple of people to check my reaction and see if I was getting worked up over nothing. I’d show you, just so you could see how offensive it was, but it wouldn’t be right.

Anyway, one of them (who was equally offended) checked the Megan’s Law website and discovered that there are 5 registered sex offenders within a mile of the school. That creeped me out even more.

By the time I worked up the nerve to go complain, they were wrapping up and the boys were gone, but I’m still not through being upset.

Turns out it was the high school using the middle school facility, but it doesn’t really change anything for me. I don’t know who was in charge, but whoever it was had a big lapse of judgement, IMHO.

It’s bad enough that clothing designers have decided our young ladies (children, really) should dress in skanky clothes, but advisers allowing children to use sex to “sell” car washes (or ANYTHING for that matter) is just wrong.

Both Principals will be getting an earful next week. Unless you can convince me I’m wrong.

What do you think?

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. I think you are 100% right and I encourage you to say something.

    Reply
  2. I agree also! These young kids have enough sexual images thrown at them on a daily basis, why are we adding more.Let alone adding fuel to the fire of adults who can’t handle themselves either. And trust me I’m no prude either! Let us know what happens

    Reply

Leave a Reply

