RSS Feed

I’m So Addicted…


Sometimes I wish I was one of those people who have so much going on in their lives that they never watch t.v., or better yet, don’t even own one.

Or maybe I just wish I wished it, because truth be told, I LOVE t.v.

The good news is, I don’t just sit and watch t.v. It’s on, and I’m watching, but I’m almost always doing something else at the same time – surfing the net, writing my blog, knitting, looking at magazines, scrapbooking…so it’s not completely wasting time.

I have many favorites, both on network television and cable, and they run the gamut, from soapy stuff like Nashville and Smash, fun things like Gray’s Anatomy, Suits, and Rizzoli and Isles, and hard hitting ones like Scandal, Revenge, and Criminal Minds. Oh, and just about every crime drama known to man. And that’s just the tip of the ice berg. There are soooooooo many more.

Fortunately, network and cable shows are counter cyclical. Networks premier in September and run through about May, then cable kicks in over the summer and wraps up about the time network start up again. So, it’s a little easier to keep up, yet not be completely overwhelmed. Add to that my 2 daytime soaps, a few political shows, an occasional foray into reality t.v. and cooking shows, and AWESOME events like Downton Abbey and Mr. Selfridge, and it is a little crazy. But it’s manageable. Mostly.

I can’t even imagine how I’d pull it off without a DVR. It is sooooooo nice to record EVERYTHING, then watch it when it fits into my world. I’m a night owl, so my tv watching hours are way outside primetime. And without commercials, I can fit more shows into less time. Friday and Saturday nights are pretty sad nights for t.v. shows, so I have the ones I recorded during the week to fall back on.

If I wasn’t doing something while I was watching t.v. I’d be worried about myself. There’s no doubt I am seriously addicted, but as long as I am accomplishing other things, I don’t feel too bad about it.

Every once in awhile I start thinking about the saying “you are what you eat” and I wonder if it translates into “you are what you watch.”  Nah, can’t be. I’m way too normal for that to be true. Heeheehee!

So, I confessed. How about you? Are you addicted, as well, or am I in this alone?

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. I like the TV on as background noise, too. I’m fond of public TV, Turner Classic Movies, and I used to love BBCA, but that has turned to crap in recent years. I love to sit and watch old movies when i have a lot of hand sewing to do. I always feel guilty if I just watch without doing anything else.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

