RSS Feed

As If We Don’t Have Enough To Worry About…


Yet again, this was not the post I intended to write tonight.

But, I spent some time reading about current events this weekend, and although I’d rather be talking about fun stuff, it seems a little like fiddling while Rome burns. So bear with me, if you will.

Do you spend much time considering what our obligations, as Americans, are to the rest of the world? And if you are a Christian, do you think about your obligation as a Christian?

I do. Maybe too much so sometimes. I try hard not to worry about things I have no control over. And mostly I’m pretty good at it. But sometimes issues come up that I can’t get out of my mind. This whole Syria thing (and really, the whole Middle East) is one of them.

I am truly war weary. We haven’t recovered from the Iraq war yet, and we’re still in a mess in Afghanistan. And after all the lives and money spent, I can’t see where there’s been much if any improvement. I am not ready to head into another one, especially since it seems to be so ineffective.

Additionally, I have little confidence that our intelligence agencies know for certain that the Syrian Government has done the gassing, rather than it having been done by others to LOOK like the Syrian Government has done it. It certainly appears so, but are we SURE? I like to think we learned a huge lesson from the Iraq debacle, but have we?

Let’s say for the sake of discussion that we DO know, and they HAVE done it. I still have mixed feelings about the wisdom of getting involved in another country’s civil war. On the one hand I detest that people are using chemical weapons, and that others have to be subjected to it. It is just wrong.

On the other hand, it is simple to recognize that it needs to be stopped. It is uncivilized. And if we stand by and watch…the thought just sickens me. But is war the answer?

I have so many questions.

If so few countries have a big enough problem with this to make a stand with us, should we really go in alone? Have we done everything we can possibly do without resorting to violence?

Do we really KNOW what the repercussions will be?

Would we, as a country, be so hesitant to step in if it were Christians being slaughtered instead of Muslims? If it were Australia, or Denmark, or England doing this?

If we do nothing will we be giving tacit approval for others to follow suit?

If we bomb them, will they bomb Israel? Would that be the beginning of a full-fledged world war?

At first I was kinda upset that Congress didn’t come back from “vacation” to deal with this situation immediately. But maybe by the President deciding to wait until they come back to address it, it will give more time for logical thought, finding ways to deal with the situation short of bombs, trying other less radical approaches.

In many situations, I feel like I have enough knowledge to let my representatives know what I think they should do, and I write letters, make calls. This is not one of those times. So, in lieu of that, I’ll be praying that they will have the wisdom to set politics aside and do what is right for the world. Whatever that is.

Thanks for listening. I’ll be back to the fun stuff tomorrow.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. I hear you loud and clear…my question is why is the United States always the one to police the globe? There are no clear answers, unfortunately. We have to wait and see…

    Reply
    • ‘Cuz no one else will? Or maybe we have more of a conscience? I think about the Holocaust and wonder if we had gotten involved sooner, how many lives could have been saved? I don’t know, Susan. I am uncomfortable with ignoring it, but it sure would be nice if someone else would step up for a change. How about another Arab nation? Why are they okay with these atrocities?

      Reply
  2. I know! Why are WE the ones? Yes, I always compare situations to the Holocaust too.
    As in other situations where the U.S. got involved, I think we were not thinking of the best interests of the people, in this case, the Syrian people. Countries in the Middle East that are so close to a boiling point do not need weapons pointed at them. How will that solve the problems diplomatically? First, the parties have to WANT to compromise. Want to solve the issue. (May I please add here that I know very little about world affairs since becoming a momma…. I really don’t know what I’m talking about here, but I feel strongly that our country doesn’t always do the best action to avoid collapsing other States.)

    Reply
    • It’s just a mess, Naomi. There doesn’t seem to be a good answer, so it becomes, do nothing, or do the least bad thing. Nothing seems so insensitive. If I were one of those people, I would hope the world community would step in and save me. But it’s almost as if there is NO world community. How hopeless would you feel if you knew there would be no help coming? That you are at the mercy of those lobbing the chemical weapons? It’s frightening that the world is so far from being the civilized place we wish for it to be.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

