RSS Feed

I’m Out of Excuses…


…or at least any that have the remotest basis in reality.

Bottom line?

I need to get off my butt and git ‘er done.

Get what you done, you ask?

Anything. Something. There are so many things to chose from.

Life is passing by and day after day after day I come up with nothing but excuses for why I can’t yet. Can’t exercise, can’t lose weight, can’t make art, can’t get the house cleaned up, can’t get the scrapbooks caught up, can’t get the studio organized, can’t, can’t, can’t.

Worse yet is that I normally follow the can’t with “untils.” I can’t get back on a good eating program until the first of the month, or until after the birthday party, or the trip to San Francisco.

I can’t exercise until my back stops hurting. I can’t make art until the studio gets straightened up. I can’t clean the studio until the rest of the house is organized. I can’t get back to scrapbooking until the things I NEED to do are done. I can’t get organized until I have the perfect planner.

JANET! Girl, wake up! They are nothing but excuses. And worse yet, all the avoidance isn’t getting you where you want to be. Seriously. Days after days after days are going by. Each one taking me closer to the time when I won’t need to worry about getting ANYTHING done any more.

Yesterday, after discovering I was unexpectedly childfree for the day, I treated myself to a day of no obligations to do anything other than what I wanted to do. I put no pressure on myself. I wrote (a lot) surfed the net, visited with my friends on Facebook, read, ordered more books, washed dishes, dabbled at straightening up here and there.

I never left the house. Couldn’t tell you what the temperature was outside. I stayed in my pajamas all day long. I texted with the daughter a little, folded a few clothes, made a smoothie, caught up on some tv shows.

I really enjoyed the day. And I considered doing it again today.

But you know what? I ran the day through the filter of “was it worth trading a day of my life for?” And my answer is “NO.” Don’t get me wrong. I DID enjoy it. And I probably really needed it. But it didn’t get me any closer to where I really want to be. It didn’t make me feel proud of myself. (I can feel Naomi cringing as I launch into being hard on myself AGAIN!)

But, I will allow that it set the stage for today. And today I am feeling full of resolve to get past all the excuses and the can’ts and get on with working for the life I want.

And the planets are lining up. It’s the first of a new week, and the first of a new month.

Most importantly, I’m ready to stop whining and sniveling and making excuses, and actually do it. At least for a few days. No promises. Just kidding. If not now, when? I’ll keep you posted.

Maybe, just maybe, this will be the time when my resolve will be strong enough and last long enough to see some progress that will, in turn, increase my resolve even further.

We’ll see just how sick of the status quo I really am.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

