RSS Feed

Facing Reality


We all have excuses for not accomplishing what we SAY we want to accomplish. And I suppose there are SOME genuine reasons why we CAN’T do some things.

But if we are being honest with ourselves, facing reality, isn’t it mostly that we want the “thing,” the “goal,” the “reward” but we don’t want to put in the work it takes to either have or accomplish it?

I’d like to take credit for this brainstorm all on my own, but the truth is, this little ditty popped onto my newsfeed today, courtesy of my friend Jason. One of those things that “makes you go hmmmmm!” It’s a really short read, and well worth the 2 minutes of your time.

Click here, or go to https://medium.com/creative-business/9e573eb6d8b8

Interestingly enough, I have been involved in a couple of discussions with friends this week that touch on some of these very things.

And you know what? The bottom line is, some/most of us DO want the goodies without putting in the work.

Take me for example. I’m not an idiot. I read a lot, study on things, a lot. I could write a whole book on what needs to be done to lose weight. Yet here I sit, overweight and whining about it. Truth is, I want to be thin, but only if I can say presto change-o and have it be so or take a magic pill that will rev up my metoblism. I have been unwilling up to this point to put in the work that needs to be done, at least for as long as it takes to get it DONE!

Same with my “art” career. The reality is, I want to paint pretty things and have people flock to buy them, but I am unwilling to make the sacrifices that would need to be made to make it actually happen.

And being satisfied with the size of my house? I don’t NEED more space, I need to buckle down and throw away (or otherwise divest myself of) stuff that no longer serves my well-being. My parents raised 3 kids in a house MUCH smaller than I have, and there are only the 2 of us. But it’s hard to make those decisions, and easier to whine about wanting less clutter. I’m not willing to do the work. So do I REALLY want less clutter?

And, it is EASY for me to see what my friends are doing wrong with their finances, because that is one area where I put in the work (okay, so Mr. Tattered put in the work, I just went along without complaining too much!) and I not only KNOW what to do, but we actually DID it.  I can speak with authority on that subject.

So. I guess we have the choice. Do we admit that we don’t really WANT the things we are unwilling to put the work into? Or do we quit whining and sniveling, roll up our sleeves and get to work?

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

