RSS Feed

DUH!


My computer has been running REALLY slow lately.

In typical “me fashion,” I just adapted to the slowness rather than try to find out why.

Then it hit glacial, and I was pretty much FORCED to investigate.

Turned out that I was down to only 20 gigs of space left, and it wasn’t liking it. SOOOOOO, I figured it was my photos that were causing the problem. Um yeah. 170 gigs of photos on a computer with 250 gigs of storage.

So, what to do?

I went to iphoto and dumped a TON of photos I had inadvertently shot in RAW and jpeg. No movement in freeing up space. Emptied the computers trash, a little movement on the total space used, but nothing in photos. Huh? How could that be?

I was just about to make an appointment at the apple store to have the geeks look at it, when I decided to google the problem and try to fix it myself, like a big girl.

After reading a mess of threads, I stumbled on a suggestion to empty the trash from iphoto itself. I hadn’t even noticed there WAS such a thing. So. I found it, and there were over 4K photos in the trash. I hit empty. The computer said “are you sure you want to do this? It cannot be reversed.”

I sat for a moment staring at the screen. And I said to myself, “Self, are you sure you want to do this? How bad are you going to hate yourself if you go back to iphoto and there are no pictures in it?” And I replied, “Well, there are only 4k thousand photos in the trash, and you’ve checked them, and they DO appear to be actual trash. You have over 13K photos left on iphoto, so they are NOT in the trash. You should be okay.”

Then I went in and put on my big girl panties, came back and hit continue. (Or at least I think that was my choice – maybe it was yes – I don’t remember…I think I may have blacked out for a moment.) Immediately a big rush of acid was dumped into my stomach as I watched the progress bar slowly…VERY slowly…move. Minute after minute I watched it creep further and further along wondering if my daughter would ACTUALLY kill me if I lost 3 years worth of the family photos, or just WISH she could?

It was the longest 3 minutes of my life. I think it was 3. It felt like 20.

At last it was done. I hit iphoto again, and whew! The remaining photos were there. Thank you, Jesus.

There is a moral to this story, I’m sure. But right now I’m too wrecked to come up with it.

Oh, and the computer? The photos I dumped bought me another 16 gigs of empty space and although that isn’t much, the computer seems happy about it and is back to running well. I need to go back and in and thin out some more photos. Maybe copy 2010 and 2011 onto a disc and delete them from iphoto? Maybe (as the little ones tell me repeatedly) I need to take fewer photos?

Nah. That ain’t gunna happen.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Three words: external hard drive. 🙂

    Reply
    • Hahahaha! I’ll have to look into that!

      janet forrestowner, Tattered ‘n Worn

      www.tatterednworn.wordpress.com Want a signature like mine? Click here. ________________________________

      Reply

Leave a Reply

