RSS Feed

Sometimes Being A Bum is Good


I’m home alone for a short time this morning, and I’m not sure what I’m going to do with it.

I make a big deal about wishing I had more time to get things done, then it magically appears, and I hesitate. Does that mean I don’t really WANT to accomplish anything and I’m just making excuses?

I don’t THINK so. Sometimes, being a bum is just what the doctor ordered. A GOOD thing.

I over-schedule myself at times. I get home from vacation, then jump right back into life without giving myself time to e a s e back into things. Then before I know it, I’ve lost myself to all the “need to do” things and haven’t budgeted any down time.

I don’t think I used to need down time. I floated from one crazy to another kind of crazy and just went with it. In my old age I seem to need to transition. So this is me transitioning.

IMG_1454

I’m going to give myself permission to be a bum today. Okay, maybe not the whole day. Just this morning.

Hmmm. My mind is filling up with little projects I could be working on. Just little ones. No pressure. If I got up now, I could…and maybe…and maybe even…

I don’t think I’m cut out for this bum thing.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. I know that feeling that it’s hard to just sit and be a bum when you have a very active mind! I can hardly just sit and read a book anymore without getting up twenty times to do something. I used to be able to sit for hours and read-now I really struggle! I do agree thought that it is important to just sit if you can handle it because I think we all are doing too much all the time!

    Jill

    Reply
    • I can’t imagine having to be down as long as you were after your surgery, Jill! I wonder if you’ll find it easier now…

      janet forrestowner, Tattered ‘n Worn

      www.tatterednworn.wordpress.com Want a signature like mine? Click here. ________________________________

      Reply

Leave a Reply

