RSS Feed

And So I Do Nothing…


My primary duty in life right now is making sure my grandkids are cared for while their parents work. Fortunately, it is not only a duty, it’s a love. It is both my calling, and my greatest joy. No matter what else does or doesn’t get done, that is my priority. And fortunately, Mr. Tattered agrees. The babies come first.

But right now life is terribly full of other things I “need to do” and things I “can’t hardly wait to do” and not enough time for both. So my solution? Do nothing. The logic is perfect.

I can’t allow myself to do the things I “can’t wait to do” until the things I “need to do” are done, so those are out. And I feel resentful about it, so I put off the things I need to do until they reach the crisis stage. There’s a certain sick logic to it, but the end result is, the important things get done by the skin of my teeth, but accompanied by a lot of stress. The exciting things, the things that really make life worthwhile, go by the wayside until the original enthusiasm for them goes away. Then I end up with piles of unused components. It’s all terribly wasteful.

And it’s not the optimum way to live.

I need a plan. A plan for how to squeeze all I can out of my days.

But worse yet, I need to improve my “follow-through.” The best laid plans are useless if you don’t follow through on them.

On the way home from dropping the girls off at school, I began making mental notes (hopefully not with invisible ink like I usually do!) on what kind of system I could put in place to get myself more organized, so that, in theory, I could stay on top of things better. A rewards system for accomplishing things – penalties for not? A calendar of goals with dates for completion? A daily calendar of where I need to be when with small project components I can accomplish in the short time between them?

I am actually pretty good at organizing. It’s my follow through that majorly sucks. When I had my business I had “my girls” to help with the follow through. Now I’m on my own. It’s not pretty.

So. Something needs to happen. It’s going to be interesting to see what I come up with. I have some ideas. Now I need to get them onto paper and put them into practice. I think a lot of tress are going to die over this!

I’m actually starting to feel a little motivated. Dare I say EXCITED? There may even be some creativity involved. Hmmmmmmm.

This isn’t going in quite the negative direction I thought it would. Maybe there is hope for me yet!

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

6 responses »

  1. I’d be happy to share my planner page I designed – it helps me with follow through mostly….

    Reply
  2. What if you start small, say with one or two main tasks you’d like to accomplish each day? Anything else is bonus. Make sure they are doable steps in a long-term project and you’ll feel you’re making progress.
    I am forcing myself to do only two things each day and I’m so much calmer. šŸ™‚

    Reply
    • My biggest problem is breaking them into small enough pieces to fit into short periods of time. But, I’m working on it! Thanks, Naomi! Glad the reduction is working for you! Maybe that means there’s hope for me!

      ________________________________

      Reply

Leave a Reply

