RSS Feed

Annoyances


I’ve always been pretty much a “go with the flow” kinda girl. I might give in to an occasional eye roll or snort, then let whatever it was go – nothing major.

Lately that has been changing. I still don’t say much, but the eye rolls are more frequent, as are the snorts, and I’m having a little more trouble letting go of things that just aren’t that important in the grand scheme of things.

Take for instance my mani/pedi this morning. Now, I don’t take being able to get them for granted. It’s an extra in life, certainly nothing I’m entitled to. I know not everyone has the extra money to be able to get one every two weeks. Every time I get one, I think about how wonderful it is. I appreciate it. And I don’t go just anywhere. I’ve sought out the best place I can find in terms of lowest price and best value. The place I go isn’t fancy. It just gets the job done well, with few frills (even comes with a free hot paraffin wax for my tootsies – LOVE.)

But the boss’s wife has done my manicure the last two times, and she’s really starting to bug me. By way of background, I am very hard on my hands. My nails look nice for about 5 minutes, then I mess them up. They break easily, and rarely are they all the same length. I have taken to not caring. Rather than evening them out to the shortest common length, I want each one to just look as good as it can. And I don’t like them oval, I like them squared. I go in with them squared, and I expect to leave with them squared. I have like two nails that seem to escape the battering, and stay longer than the others. I like them. And I want to keep them.

Last time I had them done, I kinda zoned out enjoying the hot water on my feet, and getting my legs massaged, and didn’t realize that she was cutting down all my nails until it was too late and my two lovely nails were short like the others, and they were all oval. I bit my lip, making a mental note to make sure to remind her the next time that I don’t want them cut down. And I don’t want them oval. I was a little pissy about it, and grumbled on the way home, but I got over it pretty quickly.

Then this morning, I went again. And I remembered to mention it, telling her I didn’t want them cut down – each one as long as it can be, and NOT oval – squared off. Then I dozed a little. Again. Something about the swirling hot water on my feet just knocks me out. Oh, yeah, I guess the spa chair gently rocking me helps too. And dang, if I didn’t come around to see them short and oval. I didn’t say a word, but I stewed. And I’m still stewing. We’re talking nails here. It’s not like they look fabulous all the time, or that my job requires them to look good. No one notices but me. It shouldn’t be such a big deal, but it’s REALLY annoying.

As I thought about how much this seemingly small thing bugged me so much, I realized it is only one of many things that annoy me lately. I generally find myself getting annoyed more easily now than in my younger years. Is it an aging thing, do you think? Is it that as you get older you just have a better sense of how you like things? I don’t know if I need to add it to my list of things I want to work on it (is it even anything I CAN work on?) or if I need to just accept it. Thoughts?

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. Not sure if its an aging thing but I find if I’m obsessing about something that isn’t huge (like a health crisis) then deeper down there are other things on my mind. One of the things I myself am working on is letting smaller things go because they really don’t matter in the grand scheme of what matters like family, health, etc.

    Jill

    Reply
  2. Janet, for me I am in my early 50’s, I have noticed this trait about myself as well. I have come to realize that these annoiances come to me as others not being respectful of me or my requests/wishes/desires as I try to be of them. We spend the 1st 30-40 years finally figuring out who we are and what we want in our lives and when we find it and others try to do it their way or tell us what we should be it hits a cord that negates the work we have done to come into our own being. Hope this helps.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

