RSS Feed

Yet Another Food Plan?


I was reading through my newsfeed on Facebook yesterday and came across a post about a book that sounds promising…It’s called “It starts With Food,” (the umbrella outfit is Whole 9) and puts forth the proposition that it is carbohydrates and sugar that are making us (read: me) fat. I already know that simple carbs are a problem. It never occurred to me that even complex carbs could be an issue, as well. Sugar? A no-brainer. Both react the same way in the body.

1069389_10151717810157579_1338827489_n

It is a primarily meat-based program, which presents some huge problems for a vegetarian, but it is doable. It’s only 30 days, and I can do almost anything for 30 days (except eat meat, but there are ways around it – tough ones, but again, doable.) Vegetables become your primary food, along with eggs, and really, for a vegetarian, eating primarily vegetables shouldn’t be all that hard.

The biggest drawback is no grains. No grains. No pasta, no bread, no quinoa, no corn, no tortillas, no crackers – AND no soy. Part of me can’t even believe I’m contemplating this. It REALLY hits me where I live.

But you know what? Nothing I’ve tried has really worked very well. So where I live doesn’t seem to be all that healthy of a place. Maybe it’s time to try some thing out there. I’m not feeling like I could do it for life. But what if after 30 days I really was good with eating primarily vegetables, was off sugar almost completely, got off wheat, and seriously reduced the need for all but a few grains now and then? I can’t help but think I’d be healthier.

I can’t do it just yet. I have a few weeks of commitments I need to keep first. But when they’re done, I’m going to go for it. Just a day at a time, and see what happens. All I have to lose is 30 days worth of eating food I probably shouldn’t have eaten anyway, and if I can’t do it, at least I will have tried.

I can live with that.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Can’t wait to hear how it goes! Then maybe I’ll read this book!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

