RSS Feed

Today is a Manic Day


I’m sure I’ve mentioned on these pages that I am a self-diagnosed mildly manic depressive (bi-polar in today’s language.) What it amounts to is that my highs are a little higher than normal, the lows a little lower. I’ve been that way for as long as I can remember, and for the most part, it’s gotten better with age.

Well today is a markedly manic day. I am full of hope, enthusiasm, and energy.

The first thing I did (after pouring a cup of coffee, of course!) was to open the computer and close the “game” tabs. What a foolish waste of time. I know I can easily pull them back up should I choose to, but out of sight, out of mind (I hope!) Once I read through the most important things (FB notifications, my news feed and emails – including the morning articles Mr. Tattered sends me most days) I was up and moving.

Mr. Tattered asked me the other day what I was going to do to ward off my potential heart disease and Type II diabetes (based on my finding that I am genetically predisposed to both) and I replied, “watch my food intake even more closely and move more.” He then thought it would be hysterically funny to compliment me every time he saw me reaching or bending or getting out of the recliner. He has no idea how close he is to serious physical peril.

So anyway, moving… I’m making a concerted effort to be up and moving around more, hoping that soon it will result in actually getting back to real live exercising. Grrrrrrr. Enough said on that subject, lest my manic state get reversed real fast! It’s barely 9am and I have already watered outside, dusted, vacuumed, done a load of clothes, put away dishes, refilled my coffee cup, and marched around the house several times (in a meager attempt to be able to say I actually exercised!) Fortunately for him, he’s at the gym, so missed many opportunities to tease me. Off to a good start, I’d say.

Anyway, the day continued to be a good one as far as getting things accomplished, and not wasting quite so much time. Still haven’t figured out the creativity angle, but I’m working on it. Me and my baby steps!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. I am the same way, though I hadn’t thought of it like that. I find I am ultra sensitive to EVERYTHING and it’s become very important that I recognize my moods and tell myself that of course they will pass. I definitely need to move more too…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

