RSS Feed

So Now I’m A GREAT Gaga?


I never thought I’d be doing a post about guinea pigs, but here I am.

They (Ginger and Cappuccino – 2 girls) are the newest additions to the family. The girls are their new mamas, so I guess that makes me a great gaga.

Hannah and Bea were wanting a pet, so mama did some research which said that guinea pigs are easy and a great first pet. I take exception to that. They are messy and seem to be a huge amount of work from my perspective.

They got them from a guinea pig rescue outfit (which should have been a clue, if you ask me. If they are so great, why do they need rescuing?) and these little ladies hit the jackpot. From a rescue shelter to Guinea Pig Trump Towers overnight.

Mom (grandma) went all out. They have this castle to live in – two stories, cushy covering, and toys up the wazoo.

guineapigs3-w

Now, I am a SUPER animal lover. There are very few animals I’m not crazy about. But I’m having a hard time bonding with these two. I don’t know if it’s because I know they have short life expectancies and are “middle-aged” or I know how much work they are creating or they just don’t DO much. Or maybe because one of them screams bloody murder every time I touch her. Or because they poop up a storm, and are a little on the stinky side. Who knows?

But I’m trying. Every time I go over to the house (nearly every day) I pick them up and snuggle them, and coo softly to them (yeah, well I have to admit I’m cooing that they are ugly, stupid animals, but they don’t know that, right?)

guineapigs2-w

Ginger, the brown and white one, actually purred a little today, and that was nice.

Then tonight I got to feed them their red bell pepper snack, and all of a sudden they came to life. They LOVE those things and will run all over the cage to get them. And they make the cutest little noises.

guineapigs-w

Maybe they aren’t so bad after all.  With a little time, they might grow on me a little. The girls love them, so I sorta need to, huh? After all they are my great granddaughters. Sorta.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Haha! That’s funny. That cage looks huge! Have fun, GAga!

    Reply
    • It IS huge! At first they just huddled in a corner of it, or hid in their beds…now they are exploring a little. I never would have thought it would take so long for them to get comfy! I’ve never been around guinea pigs, so this is a whole new experience for me.

      ________________________________

      Reply

Leave a Reply

