RSS Feed

Atlanta Gift Show Blues


Yep, it’s that time again. The Atlanta Gift Show is going on, and I’m not there.

It happens twice a year, January and July. It’s the only time of the year I get REALLY sad that I don’t have my store anymore.

Oh, I guess I should explain what the Gift Show is for those of you who don’t know…It’s the biggest industry trade show in the country. Vendors from all over the world come to show their wares and take orders for merchandise from retailers. It was a twice a year part of my life for almost twenty years. I remember the first time like it was yesterday.

The memories are all happy ones. Doing the buying for the store was one of my very favorite parts. The show is huge – maybe not quite so big now as it used to be, but still big – and it took nearly a week to shop the whole thing. I rarely went by myself. At least one of my “girls” went with me and we made it a party. Lots of work, but lots of good times, too. I never worked harder in my life than I did those weeks. It was exhausting, but in a completely wonderful way. I came home feeling like I had been plugged into an electrical outlet – totally recharged and rarin’ to go.

Being able to see the newest trends and how they were interpreted by many different vendors was amazing. Going through all the showrooms and deciding which products to buy, how to coordinate interesting displays with lots of different, but complementary merchandise was challenging (it was SOOOOOOO hard to stay within my budget!) but oh, so rewarding!

It’s been well over six years since I’ve been to the show. You’d think I’d be over it by now, but I’m not. I miss it so much. I still get a little depressed each time it rolls around, but it IS getting a little easier. Instead of thinking about what I’m missing, I’m getting better at just thinking about how lucky I am that I got to experience it.

One of these days I’m going to dig out some pictures of the store. You might enjoy seeing where I came from! I know I would enjoy sharing them with you.

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

7 responses »

  1. I’m sure they miss YOU at the gift show!! Never made it to one but loved all the new product that arrived shortly after!!!! Hugs!

    Reply
  2. Atlanta gift show: a place of ‘springboards’! Remembering the feeling you get when you get an inspiration, and can’t wait to bring it to fruition…. multiplied a hundred times over!!!!!!! Our brain could have used more memory space, as I know it was running past its limits! Thank you for the experience!!!

    Reply
    • I’m so glad you still remember it fondly. Those were some of the best days of my life, and I’m glad to have been able to share them with you!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  3. Only went one time with you and it was so fun !, Kinda like a vacation and work all in one !! Felt like I was buying souvenirs with your money !!

    Reply
    • I know, huh? No matter how many hours we were “working” (and there were mostly 10-12+ hour days!) it never really felt like work! I would not have guessed you only went once! Bad me!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

