RSS Feed

Seriously? A Week Into July Already?


How can it be?

I just accused someone of stealing half my June, now they’ve gone and swiped a week of July!

I think it’s because I’ve been so busy. I’ve had little time for reflection, planning, or even time to stop and wonder how I’m doing, where my head is…

I guess that’s good thing. When I have too much time on my hands, my mind wanders and sometimes in that wandering I feel either overwhelmed or uninspired – things I’d rather not feel. When I’m busy, I’m just…busy. Occupied. I look up and the day is gone.

Yikes! So IS that a good thing? If I’m racing through life not noticing what is going on, am I really experiencing all that is happening? Or just mindlessly getting through it?

So I was going through my photos in iphoto to select a picture to go with this post, and I noticed something interesting. I AM paying attention to what is going on around me.

When I was watering the garden, I noticed how nicely the annual bed was filling in. How the ceramic mushrooms used to seem to big, and now they seem much smaller. I noticed how bright the colors were. I appreciated what I was seeing enough to want to go and get the camera to capture that moment.

wandering3-w

One afternoon recently, when I was watching the kiddles, I heard them giggling from another room and went in to see what they were  up to (sometimes giggling from another room can be a bad thing!) and discovered that Hannah was reading to the little kids and she had them laughing. I noticed what they were doing and recognized the “specialness” of the moment enough to want to document it.

wandering-w

Earlier in the week when we set up the piano we brought up from down south, they all sat on the bench and played with the keys. I took the normal photo of them all sitting there, but then I noticed how sweet all their little hands looked on the keys, and closed in on just their hands.

wandering2-w

Even when we were sightseeing in San Francisco and the bus came to a stop, I was aware enough of my surrounding to notice the light playing on the leaves of the trees over our heads…

wandering4-w

I guess that must mean I’m okay. I’m busy, and I may not be thinking about how I “feel” every moment, but I’m noticing my surroundings, and appreciating them enough to know that I want to capture them to remember again later.

Whew! Crisis averted!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Looks like you’ve been busy with the important things!! Beautiful Pics, I could so see them with inspirational quotes. xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

