RSS Feed

Paper Challenge Day#16 – Mr. Tattered’s Garden


In honor of Father’s Day, I thought I’d show you around Mr. Tattered’s portion of the garden (small as it is, to hear him talk!)

And yeah, really, I do have the lion’s share. But he determined the amount of space he thought he’d need, and I got the rest. I can’t help it if he underestimated! (At least that’s my story, and I’m sticking to it!)

And I DID offer him a space in my section for his plum tree (more on that here!)

Well, the plum tree has a GREAT crop this year, and although we are fighting the birds for the crop, we’ve still got tons! And these are not you run of mill, available anywhere plums. They are Santa Rosas. When ripe, the insides are are nice and red and juicy – just the way we like them. But, even when they are not quite ripe and a little tart, they are still delish…

mr-garden6-w

This is this morning’s harvest. It’s a little hard to see the scale, but this is a 5 gallon plant container. Enough to share with both the kid’s families, and still have more than enough! And these are just the ones that the birds (or ants) didn’t get to! Best yet, there are still a bunch left!

mr-garden7-w

I don’t know why, but I love photographing the tree – maybe it’s the contrast in colors?

mr-garden4-w

You can see the netting we tried to put over the tree to keep the birds out, but they pretty much just laughed at our efforts!

mr-garden5-w

But plums are not the extent of the garden goodness.

mr-garden3-w

mr-garden10-w

We’re harvesting cherry tomatoes like crazy. Both bushes are very prolific, and these golden gems are almost like picking candy off a bush they are so sweet. Although they are perfect in a salad, they are just as good right off the vine!

mr-garden2-w

The grapes are just beginning to ripen, so it will be awhile before they are ready. Last year we lost a lot of the crop to big ol’ honkin’ rats, but this year there is no sign of them – not yet, at least. We’re keeping an eye out.

mr-garden-w

New this year are chile peppers. The man has visions of homemade fresh chile rellenos – we’ll see how that goes!

*************

On the paper challenge front, I worked a little in the art journal, but the big project of the day was getting my June ATCs done for my monthly Fly Tribe ATC Swap. This month’s theme is Summer Lovin’ and I have to confess, Hannah gave me the idea to put a heart in the middle of the sun.

june2013atc2-w

june2013atc-w

The girls (who participate in what has become the kids division) need to get theirs done in the next few days, but I’m not going to show them mine, so they can do their own interpretation without my input. I’m kind of anxious to see if Hannah follows through on her original idea, and if so, how it is different from mine! Bea normally just follows Hannah’s lead!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

8 responses »

  1. Yummy! Love your ATC cards and miss not making them. Too much going on and it’s hard to find an end in sight, especially if I need surgery on my right shoulder.

    Reply
  2. Those plums look amazing. Just yesterday, we planted a lime tree and an orange tree and I’m looking forward to watching them grow.

    Reply
  3. What an amazing garden! I am so psyched I am in the ATC swap- those cards are adorable!! Yay, Hannah!!

    Reply
  4. Those ATC’s are so cute! Great fruit pics. Deer and rabbits are the biggest garden menaces around here, though birds go after the grapes. The vineyard nearby has to use deer fencing and bird netting. Lucky you, to have all those fresh goodies, and budding artists, to boot! XO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

