RSS Feed

Paper Challenge Day #13 – Radical Wellness Art


I’ve been slow to get moving on my “Radical Wellness” class (with Tam Laporte) but I’ve finally started, and it’s playing nicely into my paper challenge. One of the most important parts of the class is the art journal that we’re supposed to do as we figure out why we’re allowing ourselves to live unhealthy lives and working our way back to health.

For the 1st page, we started with journaling on the blank pages in pencil and a couple of different pens. Since it was going to be covered up anyway, I was pretty mean to myself, much as I am most of the time when it comes to my weight (which is one of the key symptoms of unhealthy living!)

 

day13radical-w

They aren’t words I want to reread over and over, but it was good to get them out there, then cover them up, as a first step toward learning to be more loving to myself.

 

day13radical2-w

One of the scariest parts of this exercise is that we were doing a face as the primary focal point on one page, and I’ve never done a face before – which is probably why I’ve been dragging my feet about getting started. But, I jumped in, and although it’s not a masterpiece, I’m pretty pleased with my first attempt.

 

day13radical3-w

And best yet, I had LOTS of fun!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

9 responses »

  1. Go you! Faces are fun, I’m learning to draw them right now too. But they can be daunting and it’s brave to put pencil to paper. I love your doe eyed girl!

    Reply
    • Thank you, Rain! They are fun, but it’s funny how hard it is to start sketching on a background when you don’t really know what you’re doing! Heeheehee!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  2. That drawing is pretty incredible! Nicely done. I’m glad you covered up all the mean words. You’ve been getting so much more done lately so be nicer to yourself, ok?

    Reply
    • Giving myself a challenge is REALLY helping with my productivity! It’s funny – one of the sentences I wrote was that I say things to myself I would NEVER say to a friend (right AFTER I wrote something very harsh!) I really am trying to be more gentle with myself. Thanks so much for your encouragement.

      ________________________________

      Reply
  3. Your face is wonderful Janet, so great for a 1st try. I’m super impressed! Sounds like a wonderful class so far. I love her spirit, wasn’t the right timing for me to take the class. I will have to live vivaciously through you! Xo

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Paper Challenge Day #14 – A Lightbulb Moment | Tattered 'n Worn

  5. Oh, you are so in for it, Janet! Drawing faces is hard, but soooo much fun!! That is great for your first one!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

