RSS Feed

Paper Challenge Day #4 – ATCs/Summer Challenge


Let me say for starters that artists can sometimes be a little flaky at times. We march to the beat of a different drummer, and sometimes we’re not in sync with our fellow people, not even fellow artists.  I can say that because I are one (sorta – wish I could completely claim that title, but I’m in comparing mode, and “comparatively speaking” I have a ways to go before I’m comfortable with it.)

Anyway, I participate in a monthly Artist Trading Card swap with some of my artsy girlies. In May they were due to hostess by May 20th, but we’re not real strict about it, and I doinked around and didn’t make the deadline, then when I finally decided I’d better get in gear, for the life of me, I couldn’t figure out what to do, so I procrastinated again.

Had the girls not already done theirs I probably would have backed out (my girlies let Hannah and Bea participate!)  but I felt obligated (and I haven’t missed a month since we started and really didn’t want to ruin my streak!) So this morning I sat myself down and DEMANDED that I produce, and about 30 minutes later I had 8 done. I do them all alike, so it’s just a matter of coming up with one idea and reproducing it, so it’s not a major big deal. I don’t know why I have to make such a big deal about it. Once I sit down, the ideas seem to flow!

So this month the theme was “Doors and Windows.” I took some great photos of old windows when we were in Body (an old ghost town) last year, so I printed one of them 8 times, cut them out and mounted them on the 2″ x 3″ blank cards.

bodywindow-w

I then spread a coat of very thin parchment colored paint over the top to tone down the color.

bodywindow2-w

From there I ran brown chalk around the edges and smudged it, put some darker paint circles on one corner using a stamp, did a little pen work, and the added the words “A window into the past.” Ta da!

bodywindow3-w

Killed two birds with one stone (so to speak – what an awful saying!) and got my ATCs done, and did a paper project for my June challenge! Woohoo!

***************

I’m adding another challenge for the summer with Flat Fanny. You’ll meet her in a few days!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Excellent dual purpose tasking! Love your ATC’s — hope I get one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

