RSS Feed

Flower Month Day #30 / Decluttering AGAIN?


So here’s the deal.

If you are a pack rat like me, de-cluttering isn’t something you do and you’re done, it’s an ongoing process.

Ongoing, and ongoing and ongoing. It NEVER ends. It is treating a symptom, not the disease. WHAT??? Where did THAT  light bulb moment come from?

If I have to constantly de-clutter, I am treating a symptom, not the disease.

Uh-oh.

I don’t have time at the moment for a complete evaluation of why I keep letting all this stuff into my life. Correction, I’m not “letting” it in, I’m “bringing” it in. This isn’t something that is happening to me, I’m doing it to myself!

So, I apparently have a lot more work to do in this area, and I can’t deal with it right now. Right now I have to get this house presentable. We met some neighbors who invited us to come over for a glass of wine a few weeks ago. The visit included a tour of the house (which, thank you, Jesus, was not immaculate, but nor was it a pig sty.) Now it is our turn to reciprocate, and I don’t see any way around a tour of ours as well.  I’m skert. I mean, I’m not looking for a housekeeper of the year award, but I’m not looking to embarrass myself either. The idea of a complete stranger (who is not being paid to be there) in my studio makes me shudder.

It’s not that the house is filthy, it’s just not tidy. There is stuff on every surface, and even a few piles on the floor. But it’s mostly explainable. We live in a smaller house now, and recently brought a bunch of stuff from the old house down here that we haven’t found homes for yet, plus boxes of my Dad’s stuff I haven’t yet figured out what to do with, plus all the paperwork from his estate. And all that is on top of already not having as much room to spread out as we’d been accustomed to. Down-sizing seemed like such a good idea at the time, but now six years in, I’m wondering what we were thinking.

So, I’m kinda frantically trying to figure out how to make it look presentable enough to get by. Tell me again why I want real world friends?

And I, being me, have an unusual way of dealing with things like this. Instead of determining which 5 things I can do that will make the most overall improvement, I start sorting through a basket of papers, books, magazines and miscellaneous junk that is hidden under a table and wouldn’t be seen. And it ate up most of the morning, as I walked down memory lane reading things that didn’t need to be read, and daydreaming about delicious recipes that I have no business cooking. I did come away with a good size pile of trash and stuff to shred, so that felt good, but that particular project was not high on the list of what needs to be done.

But, those are hours under the bridge. The next few days are going to need to be more productive in terms of “looks.”

THEN I’m going to need to dig a little deeper on this issue of needing all this STUFF. Maybe it’s actually fixable!

**********************

 

We’re down to the last two days of Flower Month…

For my next to the last flower, please enjoy my rock roses, or Portulaca. They are a wonderful addition to my rock garden.

rockroses1-w

 

rockroses-w

Hope to see you back for my final offering of the month tomorrow!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

6 responses »

  1. Your little rock garden is so cute. I love portulaca too, but they don’t last long in Texas summer heat.

    Reply
  2. My trouble is remembering to water the pots that don’t get hit by the sprinkler system. 🙂

    Oh, yes, the decluttering is such a process. I am with you. I get into moods where I am really tough and toss a ton of stuff. Being sentimental about it won’t get me very far. Just this morning I looked in a drawer and threw out/recycled almost all its contents: baby diapers (no idea), old earbuds, very old lint roller, tie clip, empty boxes. I think if I do a little each day, maybe we’ll find progress. The trouble is all the toys around here. And my daughter is a packrat… saves every scrap of paper that I think is trash. 🙂

    Reply
    • Since her mama is a mixed media artist, I would guess that “pack rat” syndrome might be genetic! I’m sure you can imagine the scraps of this and that I have squirreled away – I’m not really even CONSIDERING that stuff in my de-cluttering. I mean will I ever find another cake mix box with pink and white stripes, or soy ice cream bar boxes that have just the perfect shade of “kraft brown” on the inside, or white corrugated pizza boxes. I just know the second the trash man leaves with them inspiration will hit and I won’t have them!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  3. Oh what a delight to see your rock roses – I haven’t seen them in ages and am glad now to know their name. I’ve known them as moss roses, but that doesn’t seem to be a very common name as no one ever knows what I’m talking about.

    Reply
    • Actually when I was looking up the spelling for portulaca, the site I went to called them moss roses, and I had never seen them called that before!

      ________________________________

      Reply

Leave a Reply

