RSS Feed

“Happy” Art Journal / Flower Month Day #29


I had an amazing day! I actually created some art for a change. A much needed change.

I spend a lot of time trying to make myself forget about art because I am busy, and because I don’t have anything to do with it when it’s done…I have so many lame excuses. But in the process I forget how much I love getting in and getting my hands full of paint and turning a blank surface into something I love to look at.

You may remember that this year I chose Happy as my “word” of the year and was all full of ideas for documenting my search for the happy in my life with art. But it hasn’t happened, until today. I FINALLY started my “happy” art journal, and I’m wondering why it took so long!

It felt wonderful to finally get my ideas on paper, to be doing art again. This is my first page. I was enjoying the process so much, I forgot to document the stages!

happinessjournal2-w

 

happinessjournal-w

On the next layout I got out the camera! I started the page using a technique I learned from my “Radical Wellness” class…

5:28journal2-w

I laid down a few pieces of book paper with modpodge, a layer of paint, and then started writing in pencil – just random thoughts about happiness. I added to that the word happy, over and over with a pitt pen (waterproof!) and then another coat of paint. Next I added stamping, more paper, more paints, a sheet of paper with thoughts about the journal, then washi tape, more paint, some pastels, sticker letters, and pen work…

5:28journal-w

Fun, fun, fun! I can barely contain my excitement. I think I’ll be back in the studio a little more often now. No more excuses.

******************************

As for day #29 of flower month? Please meet my Salvia. There are lots of varieties, but this bright purple is one of my favorite. Hahahahaha! Aren’t they all?

salvia-w

Only two more days of flower month to go! Hmmmm…I wonder which 2 flowers will make the cut?

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Great journal pages and beautiful flower mix.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

