RSS Feed

Love Can Be Fleeting /Flower Day #25


You know it’s true. You fall in love, thinking this is the one. We will be together forever. This time it’s for real. I’ve found the perfect one for me.

Then the challenges of the world set in. You start to see glimpses of the negative things about your love that they warned you about, and you chose to ignore – surely they couldn’t be true.

But they were. And here you sit, broken-hearted.

Yep, friends, they were right about my beloved hose. It continues to be a fantastic idea, but the execution is flawed. After less than a week, it began to leak, just like they said it would. I tried to ignore it. I didn’t even tell my friends about my doubts. Then I adapted. If I hold it out like this, it really isn’t so bad. Maybe it will go away. Surely this can’t be happening.

Then it got punctured by a twig in my pile of garden debris waiting to go into the green can. It’s dead. And laying in a crumpled heap at the bottom of the trash can.

flowerday25-2w

So now I am presented with a dilemma. Do I give up, or try again to see if I just got one of the bad ones?

I’m loyal to a fault. When I love, I love deeply. So, yeah, I’m going to try again. It is just too good of an idea not to give it another chance.

It’s only $20.00. Okay, if it fails, too, it will be $40.00. But it will have been worth it to take a chance on love, won’t it?

***Late note: I went back to Bed, Bath and Beyond to purchase my second hose, and related the story of what happened to the cashier. She validated that they had lots of complaints about the leaking, but said the company was working on improvements. She ALSO said, bring it back and we’ll give you store credit. I asked, even though I punctured it and don’t have my receipt? And she said, yep. We’ll take it back, anyway. Now THAT is customer service.

***********************************

Elsewhere on this 25th day of the flower month, meet my next flower. “Flower, these are my friends. Friends, this is….” Only I don’t know her name. She is a bit on the unusual side. Her name was on the side of the container, but I didn’t write it down because I just knew I would remember it. Well, I threw the pot away, and all I can remember is that it starts with a “p.” I’ve looked on every garden flower site I can find, and can come close, but the the name I’ve found doesn’t start with a “p.” And I just have to trust my steel trap memory (Stop laughing, Mr. Tattered!) So. I can wait until I find her name to show her to you, or go ahead with anonymous. As you’ve already guessed, I’m goin’ with anonymous. Or cute little purple balls. You choose.

flowerday25-w

If you know what this is, let me know, k?

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. Oh man! I was definitely planning to buy one of those hoses. 😦

    Reply
  2. Why don’t we just call her “Miss P.” I was in Ace Hardware with hubby last week and pointed out that hose. “Janet says it’s awesome,” I tell him. Think I’ll wait and see how you fare with #2. I do hate dragging that heavy hose around. I have the coil-y kind in the barn for the horses and I love it.

    Reply
    • Good ideas – on both counts! And I’m hopeful that even if this one leaks, they will fix the problem, and I’ll buy the new generation. I’m determined that eventually, it WILL work! And Miss P it will be until I find out her real name. I’m going to stop at that nursery specifically to find her name. Well, that and buy a few more fairyland pieces (more on that later.)

      ________________________________

      Reply

Leave a Reply

