RSS Feed

41 and Counting!


No, not my age (don’t I wish?) my wedding anniversary. And to the same man. And we haven’t killed each other!

Ha! For those of you in long term marriages, you know how much of a challenge it can be. But you also know the rewards.

anniversary-w

I got married when I was nineteen to a man 6 years older, and divorced with 2 children. I obviously had no clue about the treacherous waters we were about to head into. My mom’s total contribution to helping me think things through was to ask if I knew what I was doing. Well, of course I didn’t know what I was doing! But even if she had told me how hard it was going to be I wouldn’t have listened. I was in love and nothing would have stopped me.

And how glad I am I did it.

Yes, there have been many trials and tribulations along the way. There have been great times and awful times, and many in between, but the sum total has given us a rich history full of adventures, and very little boredom! Happy tears, sad tears…we’ve seen our share of both. Sometimes we drive each other nuts, and sometimes we wonder how we were so lucky to have found each other.

anniversary2-w

Overall, life has mostly been good to us.

If we hadn’t gone through all the things we have, we wouldn’t be who we are today. We wouldn’t have two wonderful kids and their wonderful spouses, or our 3 precious grand kids that we adore! We wouldn’t have the comfortable lifestyle that allows us to pretty much do what we want, and we wouldn’t be planning fun trips (with and without the kids!)

Yep, I’ve been married to the same man for over 2/3 of my life. And I’m so glad. I love you, Mr. Tattered!  Happy Anniversary.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. Happy Anniversary, Janet! Great pic. We’re celebrating 33 next month. It hardly seems possible all that time has gone by. Wishing you many more happy and healthy years together!

    Reply
  2. Happy Anniversary, Janet and Mr. Tattered! Yes, it’s really hard work but the rewards are so worth it. We’ll be celebrating our 45th this summer. There are times I look back and can’t believe we’ve come this far together without breaking up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

