RSS Feed

Spring Means Creating in the Garden!


The weather is still a little on the chilly side, but the sun is shining and it is beckoning me to the garden.

I’m trying to content myself with doing prep work rather than actual planting. I’d hate to loose plants to a late frost. Even though there are lots of perennials in bloom from plantings in years past, I’m still a little nervous.  And Lord knows there are plenty of other things to do. I’m just not so fond of the “behind the scenes” stuff. I’m not a natural pruner or weeder – I have to force myself. But there are some sorta fun things that need to be done.

garden2april9-w

These girls need a serious make-over

garden3april9-w

This baby had a lawn mowing accident and needs his ears re-attached!

So, I dawned my fancy shoes and did some weeding.

gardenapril9-w

Then I went on to getting out some large pots to catch birdseed in hopes of being able to feed the birds, but not the mice and rats. They don’t look as bad as I had feared, and with some careful planting, they’ll look even better.Really, you can barely see one of them.

garden4april9-w

The birds are already interested in what I’m doing. A scrub jay found a sunflower seed and sat on the wall banging it into the wall trying to crack it open. I love watching the activity.

Then I made some room for my new succulent planter. Yeah, I know…last time you heard I was talking myself out of it!

Well, I couldn’t get it out of my head. I spent an hour wandering through Pottery World trying to find mis-matched pieces to put together in hopes of saving myself some money, but to no avail. I was still rolling ideas around in my head when I got a message from a Facebook friend who had read my post. Dear Sylvia, it seems, just happened to have an old fountain sitting in her side yard that she hadn’t used in 10 years and was fixin’ to get rid of it, and wanted to donate it to the cause. She lives just a couple of towns over and her husband was willing to load it up in the truck and deliver it.

I was beside myself excited! “I don’t know how to thank you!” I exclaimed. “Don’t be ridiculous. Just your excitement is payment enough. I love it when things work out like this!” was her reply.

Well, needless to say, we set a time, I got my boys lined up to help off-load it and get it into its new home, and I’m dreaming about the possibilities! Tomorrow it arrives…

So, with thoughts of my new project in my head, doing the clean-up out there is a little easier. I’m a sucker for rewards.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. How sweet of Sylvia! Can’t wait to see how it turns out!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

