RSS Feed

Walkin’ and Chewing Gum


Sometimes I feel like the proverbial klutz that can’t walk and chew gum at the same time. Or at least that’s the closest metaphor I can come up with at the moment. I seem to be unable to concentrate on more than one thing at a time.

Oh, sure, I can watch tv and surf the net at the same time, or carry on a conversation while I type (which drives Mr. Tattered insane!) but I can’t seem to work on multiple goals at the same time. Or at least for any length of time.

I can be creative, or I can watch my weight and exercise, but not both at the same time. I can keep my house clean, or I can be creative, but not both at the same time.  I can watch my weight and exercise, or I can keep my house clean, but not both at the same time. I can cook, or I can keep my house clean, but not both at the same time. Get what I mean?

This has to stop. I have to learn how to work on all my goals at once, not let one take over to the exclusion of the others. This is back to the elusive balance that is so hard for me to find.

Just because I want to keep my house clean, should not mean that I have to clean it from top to bottom right now and I can’t go for a walk. Or because I want to create that my husband has to go hungry. Or that if I want to lose weight we have to live in squalor.

Why do I do this to myself? I suspect it’s got something to do with my obsession problem!

So. In addition to setting general goals, I’ve got to set up little daily goals that address all the areas I’m working on. Today I both exercised AND made Mr. Tattered’s favorite soup from scratch. Woohoo! There’s hope yet.

How about you? How do you deal with your lack of balance and obsessions? Or have you come to terms with it?

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. no – it is a constant struggle to balance. lists help me prioritize so I don’t get sidetracked by something that feels urgent (like cleaning the whole house NOW) but isn’t really. Actually now my kids are all gone the house is less urgent – except the laundry which still never seems to get put away… ah life! I am convinced balance like perfection is an illusion!!

    Reply
    • I have to agree with you, it’s an illusion. But right now I feel like I’m drowning, so I need the illusion! So, I’m plugging along, pretending I’m going to find it! Heeheehee!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  2. I cannot watch tv and be online at the same time, so that really is a talent of yours. 🙂 Balance, for me, is the recognition that I can do it all, just not at the same time. And I have to have sleep.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

