RSS Feed

Rediscovering My Happy Place


I know that I knew where my happy place was. In fact I rediscover it this time every year, then somehow I forget, and for a moment am completely surprised when I remember again! Then slowly the realization that it is not news sinks in, and I wonder how I can forget something so fundamental.

I was born to live on the water.

Today was not the best day to be out on the water. The Kona winds were blowing, making the trip on the catamaran from Lahaina to Lana’i a rough one. The skies were grey and we even got rained on a bit, so the pictures are far less than beckoning…

onthewater-w

Yet I was happy. Immensely so.

And as the boat rocked (way too much for some in our group) I thought about how, to this day, I rock myself to sleep at night. I remembered nights on the few cruises we’ve been on falling asleep to the gentle rocking of the boat on the water. I sympathized with the people who were sea sick even though I thoroughly enjoyed every bounce and surge and lurch…the ups and downs and sides to sides. And I remembered. I LOVE this. And I have loved it each and every time we’ve done it, calm seas and rough.

This is my happy place. The place I need to go to in my mind whenever I am sad, or overwhelmed, or feeling the world closing in on me.

I don’t know if I will ever live on the water. Or even near enough to it that I will be able to spend a lot of time on it. But I do know that I can go there in my mind whenever I want. But unlike prior times when I forget once I leave, I need to remember that this is the place that makes my heart sing.  On the water. My happy place.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. I love the water too! Anytime we go on vacation, I always look to go near an ocean or lake. 🙂 At home, I try to have at least a little water fountain relaxing me. I also have a video of the waves at the beach that I keep on my computer desktop to relax me when I need a getaway. 🙂

    Reply
    • In my perfect world I would have a water feature in my backyard, but that’s not going to happen (I obviously don’t live in my perfect world! Heeheehee!) but I hadn’t thought of having an ocean video on the computer – I need to try that!

      ________________________________

      Reply

Leave a Reply

