RSS Feed

When is Enough, Enough?


After spending hours surfing around the internet following leads from facebook and my e-mail and barely making a dent in all the fabulous articles, I’ve come to the conclusion that at some point you have to say enough is enough, and get on with life.

I spend so much time checking out new projects, drooling over other artist’s work, dreaming about new supplies (and Lord help me, new mediums) improving my life, and keeping up with current events, I have little time left over to actually LIVE – unless you consider dreaming about the life you want – to be living.

Good grief!

I would guess it is either a sophisticated form of procrastination or living vicariously, I haven’t decided which. If you revel enough in other people’s accomplishments it’s ALMOST like doing it yourself, without having to ever put forth the effort to actually do it, or in my case start it and never finish it.

How twisted is that?

I LOVE scrapbooking. I love the art of it, I love having beautiful albums that chronicle ours lives, I love everything about it. But I am VERY behind. So, in hoping to turn over a new leaf and get back at it, I got together a bunch of pictures to work on – along with all the papers and lots of embellishments to add to my pages.  Everything I need to produce 2 whole albums worth of documented wonderfulness. And there they sit. I have lots of time to peruse web-sites showing beautiful examples of finished pages, and tons of lovely papers and supplies. But do I actually lift a finger? Huh! Not this girl. It’s like I think the scrapbook fairy is going to pop in and do it for me!

Enough already, Janet!

I guess this is yet another example of a broken window that needs repairing… Wonder if I’m going to get to it any time soon??? Not without adult supervision, and I’ve already taught the only adult in my life that I’ll bite his head off if he says a word.

 

.

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. I think you are on to something – I always say the work you haven’t made yet is perfect right? I have to go into hermit mode to really get any work done, and once I start I never want to stop! It is hard to remember that real, finished imperfect work is best!!

    Reply
  2. I know! I read from Leo Babauta that it’s sort of like dipping your toe into the ocean. You can’t expect to be able to swallow the entire thing!

    Reply
    • I know I need to get a lot more selective about what I read, but I just love it all! Seriously – gotta get back to those to do lists…maybe “surfing” could be my reward for getting stuff done!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

