RSS Feed

The Create/Happy Connection


Yesterday I made the absolute connection between being useful and being happy, and in the process brought to the forefront of my thoughts my connection between being creative and being happy.

The problem is, I don’t ALWAYS have the ability to be creative, in the more traditional sense of the word, every day. By that I mean life often gets in the way of making art, doing crafts… There are times when I have obligations that use up my “creative time” or, I am in a place where my “supplies” are not available.

So, I can either do without creativity in my life every day, or I can expand my definition of creativity.

I am choosing to re-define creativity.

Sometimes it will have to mean creating a healthy body, as in shopping for healthy food, or exercising, or getting enough sleep. Or even just chilling. That’s a concept – relaxing!

Other times it may mean creating an organized environment, like cleaning the house (oh, no!) or putting things away in a home away from home, or doing dreaded paperwork.

And it may mean simply creating memories, whether or not they are recorded by camera.

So that means I need to be willing to accept that I may go through a day or two or more with nothing to really “show” that I have been creative. I think I will be okay with that.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

