RSS Feed

To Spoil or NOT to Spoil…


Well, by now most of the world has seen the final season 3 episode of Downton Abbey. Did you make it through without knowing the final outcome before you saw it?

If not, did someone spoil it for you, or did you go looking for answers?

I have to admit, I didn’t even wait for spoilers. Shortly after the end of season 3 in the UK, my niece let me know you could live stream the episodes. I was strong and resisted…for about 5 minutes.

Then I cued up all nine hours and watched the whole season in about 3 evenings. And it was wonderful. And it was terrible. As great as it was to see it sooner, I had no one I could talk to about it. I cried my eyes out in private and kept the secret. For what felt like months, even though really it was only weeks.

If you HAVEN’T seen the final episode, and are planning to….

SPOILER ALERT! Don’t read any further!

It seems to me that it is highly unusual for a hugely popular show like this to lose two major characters in the same season. And even more unusual that both characters were killed off because the actors each decided to go on to other opportunities. And then the tragic ending was followed by fundraising for PBS. Hello? I had to laugh seeing this cartoon today:

538307_10151312464338918_1399867924_n

Anyway, at first I was downright mad. What kind of an actor completely disses their fans like that? How can they be a part of an incredible show like this, make us fall in love with them, then bail when they get REALLY popular and so much more marketable – thanks to us! Dan Stevens especially. I was bound and determined to boycott what ever he does.

But, I’ve softened over the weeks. They have lives to live. They have to do what is right for them and their families. And, I have faith that Julian Fellows will come up with fabulous new characters that will make us practically forget them. Okay, not forget them, but we’ll get over it. Eventually.

The good news is that Maggie Smith (the Countess Dowager) has signed for season 4 and Julian has promised that even if she leaves, he won’t kill her off!

AND, it has been reported that season 4 will begin 6-8 months after where season 3 leaves off, so we will be spared the funeral and Mary’s initial grief. That helps. And the guy they are looking at for Mary’s new love interest seems hunky enough.

There is SOOOOOOOOOOOO much material to work with. Will Anna and Mr. Bates have a baby? Will Edith come into her own? Will Tom find another love and a wonderful mother for Sibby? Will Mrs. Hughes and Carson get together? Will Daisy take William’s father’s offer? Even without Matthew and Sybil, there are so many possibilities.

I’ve heard some people say they are done. But not me. I love Downton Abbey, and it will take more than a couple of tragic deaths to get rid of me!

Now, about the delay between the release in the UK and the release in America. They may not be able to keep actors from leaving, but SURELY they can do something about that!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Just watched my recorded episode last night—-and thank you for explaining why 2 characters died the day after having babies! I found that rather annoying/cheap, but I’m guessing the writers didn’t have too many options. I’ve only BEGUN watching here in Season 3–so I have some retrospective-catching-up to do!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

