RSS Feed

The Continuing Saga of Studio Cleaning


If you’ve been visiting every day, you know I have a love/hate relationship with my studio, and I’ve been working on getting it cleaned up.

I ran out of time before company is coming and had to get all the crap I’d taken out of the studio and dragged into the guest room to sort, back into the studio so they’d have a place to sleep!

I mentioned that it’s not possible to cram 25# of stuff into a 5# bag, but I may have been a bit premature. I made some shifts in the way I was storing things, and lo and behold, I managed to get a whole lot more stuff in there! A lot of it is just in boxes waiting to be sorted, but at least it’s in there, and doesn’t look too awful.

One of the reasons I have such a mess is that I save EVERYTHING!

moretreasures-w

Box tops from Trader Joe’s cake mixes (they’re so cute!) little pieces of cardboard boxes (white ones just aren’t that easy to find!) bits of ribbon and embroidery floss, random trim, and a rusty piece of metal… If it was only this, no big deal, but multiply this times a gazzillion!

But in addition to the questionable things, I found some more treasures…

There were THREE of Melody Ross’ metal stamp sets, not just two…

moretreasures3-w

And a tape runner, the tools for making your own stamps, and a circle cutter…

moretreasures2-w

I’m still looking for the gift card. I’ll find it eventually.

The room still isn’t clean enough for me to be proud of, but it’ll get there. THEN I’ll show you pictures!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. Hi Janet. Been following your blog. Fantastic! I too am “tidying” my studio. But like you, I’ve ended up putting stuff into boxes and just moving those boxes around! But it all does get kinda overwhelming! I can’t believe the amount of stuff I’ve accumulated over the years. Shocking. Why wasn’t there Purchase Police in the store, to prevent me from making the purchases in the first place? Ah, self control, it’s a wonderful thing…..??!!!??? I’ve been watching these Hoarder programmes on the TV, to try and motivate me…..I managed a further clear out at the weekend, which was good, but now I’m left with the stuff that couldn’t be categorized as “trash” or “charity shop”…..I don’t know what to do with it all. And like you, I’m thinking oooooooooo, that might be useful…I could maybe do something with that…………….???!!!!??? Maybe I’ll wait until a bad bout of PMT. I find at such times my emotional attachment to things goes out the window and things get turfed……..Keep us posted on progress! Wendy 🙂

    Reply
    • Hahahaha! Thanks, Wendy. Life keeps throwing me curve balls, but once I get everything situated with my father’s estate (he just passed away Friday) I’ll get back to organizing.

      Reply
  2. Ha! I’m doing the same thing and I’m a woman obsessed. Can’t wait to see how yours turns out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

