RSS Feed

Now! (or later…?)


One of my good friends in the Fly Tribe has “organize” as her word for 2013, and I was laughingly remembering that back in the day, organize was a four letter word in my world. My employees had to refer to it as “the “O” word.” I didn’t even want it SAID in my presence!

Well, for the most part, I am much more organized than I used to be, but it got me to thinking about words that have prominence in my life, and of the negative ones, “procrastinate” is the one that most haunts me.

I am a procrastinator. Scratch that. I am a MASTER procrastinator. I have taken it to the level of an art form.

I have figured out, in nearly all areas, exactly how long I can put off doing something and still get it done in time. Be it getting dinner started or buying Christmas gifts, painting my ATCs or any other project, I RARELY do anything  in advance of need.

Sometimes I push too far and it doesn’t get done. Not often, but it does happen. In those cases I rationalize that I must not have REALLY wanted to do it, and by procrastinating too long, I don’t have to. The problem takes care of itself. I don’t have to actually DECIDE not to do it, the decision is made for me. Not good. The “Sketchbook Project” is one such thing. I signed up, but I’ve put it off and put it off, and now the deadline is looming. To do it or not to do it. I want to do it. But it makes me nervous, so I’m dragging my feet (read: procrastinate.) I can’t decide. In a few more days, I won’t have to decide. It’ll be too late.

I probably should have chosen “NOW” as my word. But that would mean I would need to embrace it, and I’m just not sure I WANT to do that. Maybe I’ll major in “Happy” in 2013, with a minor in “Now.” I need to think about that. Later.

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Procrastination. Another gift we share. XO.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

