RSS Feed

The Art Of Food


Welcome to Day #20 of Art Every Day Month! I’m so glad you’ve come to visit! If you have a chance to stop by and see what the other artists participating are up to!

My art today (for the first time in a LONG time!) is FOOD!

Our nephew and his lovely wife came to dinner (along with my daughter and her family) and my daughter and I decided to go all out and try a new “gourmet” recipe. Long time readers may remember that we are vegetarian. And more than once I have featured recipes by my favorite veggie chef, Betsy DiJulio. Well, she has struck gold with the latest recipe on her blog (which was picked up by the One Green Planet blog.) It’s a butternut squash lasagne, and if I’d ordered it at a 5 star restaurant, I would have left singing. It was yummo! There was so much depth of taste my mouth was very happy!

For the side dish, we made delicious roasted brussel sprouts. I first had these at “The Press” restaurant and they were pretty easy to duplicate. Have you seen the big stalks of brussel sprouts in the market? They are pretty intimidating if you don’t know what to do with them. But they are mild, delicious and very easy to make. Cut them from the stalk, cut them half, drizzle them with olive oil, sprinkle with garlic powder, pepper and salt, and roast in a 350 degree oven for about 30 minutes, stirring them up from time to time. They caramelize beautifully. Again, yummo!

Then for dessert we made a quick and easy Pumpkin Butterscotch Mousse.

I wish I could eat like this all the time, but I’d weigh 600 pounds! So, we save it for every once in awhile.

It was fun cooking with my daughter and spending time visiting around the table enjoying a beautiful, as well as delicious meal…and it’s not even Thanksgiving yet!

************

I got a little treat in the mail today…MY copy of “A Little Bird Told Me.” I hope you are taking the time to comment on my blog so your name gets entered in the give-away for one of these little treasures. It is beautifully done, and I KNOW I’m going to enjoy reading through Melody Ross’s wisdom and enjoying her art!

************

Gratitude Day #20 –

Today I am taking time to be grateful for visiting with family over homemade meals. In this busy world there isn’t always time to construct meals from scratch then linger over consuming them, bonding, exchanging ideas and catching up. And we get to do it twice this week! Yay!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

12 responses »

  1. OMG that mousse looks amazing! Happy THanksgiving!

    Reply
  2. You are going to HAVE to share the mousse recipe…I just plain and simply “want that recipe”! BTW, Mr. Cottage mentioned about possibly getting Molly her own Elmo, but I think we’ll just look for a red fluffy toy that moves and is less expensive!

    Reply
    • If you click on the red Pumpkin Butterscotch Mousse it takes you right to the recipe! I wouldn’t show you such luciousness w/o telling you how to make it! You’ll crack up at how EASY something so delish can be!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  3. Love brussel sprouts!!

    Reply
  4. Great photos and it definitely all sounds delicious ~ (A Creative Harbor) ^_^

    Reply
  5. I love Brussel sprouts but have never cooked them like that. I think it would be a welcome change. Thanks for the idea and photo 🙂 – Heidi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

