RSS Feed

Not Enough Hours In A Day (or a lifetime!)


Welcome to Art Every Day Month Day #18! So glad you stopped by to see me!

Well, I finally got the cleaning urge today. I’ve been wondering how long it would take for me to miss creating so badly that I was willing to clean in order to be able to “reward” myself. Yeah, I know. We’ve had this discussion before, and decided that creating should be a regular part of my world regardless of whether or not I was “being a good girl” and doing what I was supposed to do.

However, I seem to be genetically incapable of cleaning w/o some kind of a reward, and “arting” seems to be the only reward I respond to (at least that doesn’t create more clutter than was there before, or add a pound to my booty!)

The biggest problem is that the rooms that got my attention didn’t include the one that needed it most. The next biggest was that I spent so much time/effort cleaning, that by the time I was done, I was too pooped to art! Which I guess was a good thing, because the scary room is still scary and I doubt I would have been able to do anything even if I’d had the energy!

I swear there just aren’t enough hours in the day. I want to read, and do art, and cook, and sew, and knit, and keep up my scrapbooks, and keep up with my buddies on Facebook, and travel with my man, and do projects with the girls, and exercise (Okay, I don’t really WANT to do that, but I need to!) and, believe it or not, keep the house clean…

What’s a girl to do? Seriously, something just HAS to give! I either have to thin down the number of things I do, figure out a way to do more things but for less time (like read a chapter a day instead of a whole book in two days! OR only spend an hour on Facebook instead of – well, let’s just keep that number a secret! shhhh!) or live twenty years beyond what is actuarially possible!

Gratitude Day #18 –

I’m grateful that I’m living a full, busy, and rewarding life! I’m frustrated that I don’t seem to be able to have it ALL (or at least not all at the same time!) but I’m not taking for granted that I have sooooooo much!

****Please don’t forget to comment if you want to add another chance to win the Melody Ross book “A little Bird Told Me!” Drawing is on the 29th, so enter every day!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

12 responses »

  1. Amen, sista! There are so many fun projects and the limited time gets to me too. I think we are lucky… some people don’t know what to do with free time. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Same problem with time! Same gratitude for the time I do have!

    Reply
  3. When you finally figure out how to squeeze more time into our day to get all our projects and creative time in, please share the secret because I sure need to know how to do it all without being exhausted.

    Reply
  4. I agree with you! As I get older, I swear time goes faster :). I’m grateful that I can do some cleaning, even if it isn’t as fast as I used to be able to do it. Happy American Thanksgiving 🙂 – Heidi

    Reply
  5. When you get this accomplished please do share as I fully comprehend not enough hours and so much to learn and do…and keep up with UGH! Not sure how to prioritize that time

    Reply
  6. Hi Janet! I am also finding that the allotted 24 hours a day are simply not enough. I swear there is only one thing that can send me over the edge, the phrase; “I am so BORED!” Lol! I would PAY to be bored for a change! Love your post, always a delight to open my e-mail and see your link. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

