RSS Feed

Blocks, Obsessing, and My Man


Welcome to Day #3 of Art Every Day Month!

I hope you are taking the time to check in with some of the other artists working on this challenge!

Today, I have to confess, was a tough one for me. I spent waaaaay too much time obsessing about the election and not nearly enough creating art. But, I did get into the studio for awhile!

I worked on my blocks some more. I am pretty much determined to get them finished before heading off onto another project!

Today I added a little bit to the background and began my lettering.

So far I’m liking where it’s going, but tomorrow I need to focus better and make more progress than I did today!

For my third day of gratitude I’d like to mention my man, Mr. Tattered. I have a number of friends who are either having severe marital problems, or have already split up and are back into dating. And I have to say, I’m grateful I’m not.

I’ve been married for over 40 years now, and although he is perfectly capable of driving me up a wall (and I’m sure I do the same to him! Who, me??) I have to say I am grateful that we’ve managed to beat the odds and put together a relationship that works for both of us most of the time. He would agree that we’ve had our challenges.

Marriage is hard work. I don’t think either one of that realized that in the beginning. Young love has a way of glossing over the potential friction points. I’ve pretty much decided that the secret to a long marriage is continually re-falling in love with the same person over and over.

We took a little get-away last week and re-connected. We had a good talk about where we are and where we want to go, and fanned the romantic flame once again. It’s nice to do that every now and then.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

6 responses »

  1. Love your blocks! Clever, girl. Looking forward to seeing them all when they are finished.

    Reply
  2. The blocks are looking good, can’t wait to see them finished. And I totally agree that marriage is something you have to continually work at, but well worth the effort!

    Reply
  3. Thank you for sharing your gratitude and the small romantic moments that keep your love a live.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

