RSS Feed

A Block Project and Grace


Welcome to AEDM Day#2! If you’re inclined to read the blogs of others participating in this project, you can find them here.

So, a few months ago (can it be that long ago?) I used my new jig saw to cut some blocks for a yet-to-be-determined project.

The 1st three were made into cute little pumpkins for fall/Halloween pattered after the ATCs I’d done for that month’s swap.

But I had some left, and didn’t really know WHAT I was going to do with them.

Then when I was putting up my Thanksgiving decorations I decided some blocks that said “give thanks” might be nice. So off to the studio I went to begin painting.

I liked the “book page” look of the pumpkin blocks that I decided to start with the same type of base again. I’m not exactly sure where they are going to take me, yet. My preliminary plan is to put a single letter on each block with some sort of a fall icon on each, but we’ll see. I sort of like starting with a basic idea and then watching it develop rather than having the whole thing planned out in advance!

It’ll probably take a few days to get them finished, but I like having a project going that I am enthused about, and not well thought out. It allows my mind to wander to it multiple times a day and mull it over – much more fun than thinking about yucky stuff!

Day#2 of a month of gratitude –

Today I find myself being grateful for “Grace.” As in the “grace of God” but expanded out to include the grace we give each other, as well. How wonderful it is to experience grace, both in the giving and the receiving.

I am reminded of the saying that “children need love most when they deserve it least.” But isn’t that true of all of us? We need to feel loved the most when we are at our most unlovable.

Grace. Forgiveness. Acceptance. A lack of judgement. I have needed it more than I care to admit, but I have been quick to give it, too.  And I have to admit, it feels almost as good to give it as it does to receive it. Grace. It is a wonderful thing.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

10 responses »

  1. the pumpkin blocks are awesome so i am thinking the new ones will be as well… looking forward to seeing what they become…xx

    Reply
  2. I found myself saying 2 things: Yes! those are awesome!
    And Yes! Amen!

    Reply
  3. So many possibilities with a block of wood! This is a great project Janet.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Ann. It takes me back to my roots…working with wood was my primary art form when I was doing shows and starting my brick and mortar store!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  4. Thanks for the photo journalism here – what an awesome way to get fun blocks – just seeing these made me realize I’m missing a whole bunch of creative opportunities. I expect to be using this technique sometime during AEDM! Thank you!

    Reply
  5. Fun to have the project lead you along., isn’t it. It will be interesting to see where it takes you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

