RSS Feed

She’s Baaaaaaack!


Oh, my.

I am back after taking a technology break for a few days!

It wasn’t intentional, or at least not pre-planned, it just sorta happened.

Mr. Tattered and I took a little trip just the two of us, something that doesn’t happen much these days. Seems like we enjoy being with our family so much we forget sometimes that it’s nice to have “us” time.

So, in the course of this “us” time, we had a wonderful conversation about where our lives were headed, how we wanted to spend our “golden years,” our concerns, and what is important to us these days.

I’m feeling a little like Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz, having been been out on this amazing, fun, but frightening adventure, looking for SOMETHING, and realizing that the something I was looking for was right here all the time.

So, although I’m certainly far from having a whole new plan nailed down, I do have some broad outlines.

I’m going to continue working on my personal “Happiness Project,” and I’m going to continue to do my art, but I’m going to retreat back into my family, and spend less time on social media and dreaming about an art career that is, in all likelihood, never going to happen.

I’ve been bouncing back and forth on this concept. The dream just won’t go away, and I have been hesitant to not pay heed to something that I can’t stop thinking about. I love the sayings “See where you spend your time, and there you will find your heart” and “Never give up on someone or something that you can’t stop thinking about.” My time is spent obsessing about my creative needs (which always lead to wanting another business) and I’m hoping that by changing my focus and not obsessing, a new way of looking at the dream will come to light. That I will find a way to marry my creative needs and my desire to put my family first. That somehow, if I let the dream rest – put it on the back burner for awhile – a path forward will show itself.

So. That’s where my head is today.

I have a lot to catch up on after being away. But I’m going to take my time. I may not even LOOK at my e-mail for a week! I wonder if the world will come to an end? Probably not, huh?

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. You are taking such good care of yourself, Janet. Planning discussions are my favorite! Now you just have to remember this so you won’t panic again…

    Reply
  2. I know that we’re both close in age and I know what you mean when you say “golden years”. I’ve been busier than ever since I got into my art and I’m taking stock of my life too. I’m spending way too much time on the computer. I challenged myself to do one blog posting a day for 2012 but that will come to an end in about two months. Other than Connie’s couse on taxes, I’m not planning on anymore online classes. I want to spend my time more wisely and paint for my enjoyment, and try selling my art in stores and galleries. I’m not sure about getting into shows. I’ve been there and done it and it’s a lot of work. I’ll have to think on this one, just not sure. But at our ages, we should be doing what we love and how we want to spend our days. Right!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

