RSS Feed

Planning For Happy


Many of you already know I’m in the beginning stages of setting up my own “happiness project” based on the book by Gretchen Rubin.

I still haven’t finished the book, but I’m enjoying it so much I’ve already decided that going through the process myself will be worthwhile. I really believe I am basically a happy person. So, really, all I’m hoping to accomplish is to create more of a “happiness awareness” in myself.

So, I have my tentative 12 monthly themes – areas where I think I have the most ability to maximize my happiness awareness.

And I have set up an art journal to go along with my monthly tasks. (This is not part of the original program, but I’m trying to multi-task here and incorporate some art into the project!)

You how sometimes once you are thinking about something, you get all kinds of affirmations from the world that you are on the right track? Here is one of my latest “Messages From the Universe:”

Neither a promotion, losing weight, finding a soul mate, writing a book, nor becoming a billionaire will ensure happiness. Nothing ensures happiness. No destination is great enough. No dream come true will do. Because happiness, dear Janet, that’s not present at the start of the journey will be present at its end.

Now, this does not speak DIRECTLY to the project, but I find it interesting that happiness is so much on my mind, and here it pops up as my message…how does “the Universe” know this is such an issue for me right now??? Is it just THAT universal?

Now, keep in mind…I do not believe that an unhappy person can will themselves to be happy. But I do believe that a fundamentally happy person can INCREASE their happiness level, at least to some degree. Or at least I HOPE that is the case, and that it will be the result for me. That’s my goal, anyway. I’m really excited about this.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. I’m picking the book up from our library today because I got a notice its in. Now to give myself time to read it or glance at it and decide if I should invest in buying for myself.

    Reply
  2. I am about halfway through and already started on my own happiness project. Will post about it on my blog – thanks for the tip!! Good luck on your journey. It will be fun to see what things you decide to tackle!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

