RSS Feed

Checking in on Happy


Welcome to Blogtoberfest Day #13!

In preparation for starting my own “Happiness Project” in January, I am doing a daily check on my happiness status.

It’s a bit like keeping a gratitude journal (although I haven’t been writing things down – maybe I should do that, too!) I’m trying to remember each day to be aware of the things that are making me happy enough to notice it!

For instance, today I got my  two front flower rings planted. I bought the flowers yesterday, but when it came down to having to clean out the planters before actually planting, I didn’t want to do it. So I broke it down into 3 parts – pulling the old stuff out, refilling with potting soil, and planting – figuring if I did it in 3 consecutive days, at least it would get done. Once I got everything pulled out, I felt inclined to continue, so got the new soil in. Once THAT was done, I sorta wanted to see what it was going to look like, so I went ahead and planted, too. Even though it isn’t as full as I was hoping it would be, the finished job made me smile, and I thought – cool – I actually finished a project, and it made me feel happy! Yay, me!

Having completed that, I went in to wash up and noticed that I was sadly in need of a manicure (and pedicure, too, truth be told.)  My hands were a mess, even after I dug all the dirt out!

So, I changed clothes and headed out, and saw a flock of wild turkeys just after I left our development. I pulled over and watched them cross the street, and I thought – I really like seeing these turkeys – makes me happy. Yay, me!

En route to the nail salon, I stopped in at a little cowgirl boutique I discovered recently. They have the CUTEST clothes, and although I have not lost quite enough weight yet for anything to fit, I thought, what the heck? I can look. I found a top I just loved, so instead of just drooling I gathered up my courage and tried it on. It was a bit tight, but close enough to fitting that I went ahead and bought it. Woohoo! It wasn’t the actual purchase that made me happy, but seeing that I’m getting smaller, and being brave enough to try on something at a boutique that intimidates me a bit! Yay, more happy!

Finally it was on to the salon, and MAJOR happiness. They weren’t busy, and during their slower times, they increase the arm and leg massage time…I was so relaxed I almost felt asleep. And the paraffin wax treatment? Sheer heaven. Yeah, more happy.

That’s a lotta happy for one day!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

8 responses »

  1. Nothing better than dirt or paint under fingernails! xo

    Reply
  2. Yay to happy! Sounds like it’s been a lovely day 🙂

    Reply
  3. I loved reading about all your happiness day Janet. Oh and the paraffin wax treatment, heavenly is not the word. Lucky girl. You certain earned this special treatment after all the hard work you did.

    Another thing you are lucky for is to be able to be planting flowers. We are smack in the middle of fall here in Canada, getting ready for winter and snow eventually. No sights of planting flower gardens here until next May. xo

    Reply
    • We lived in the mountains for 25 years, and had a very short growing season and lots of snow! One of the things I love about living in the valley (or being a “flatlander” as we used to call the non-locals!) is the extended growing season complete with precipitation that flows down the driveway instead of piling up!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  4. Hands in dirt = happy hands

    Reply

Leave a Reply

