RSS Feed

A Fresh Start


I have just completed a month of attempting to be creative every every day on my own, and I have been an abysmal failure. It’s been a tough month. I just haven’t been feelin’ it. Or maybe I just haven’t required enough of myself. I don’t know.

Anyway, October is the beginning of two new challenges designed to get me out of my doldrums and back into creating.

However, because of the way I do my posting, tomorrow the challenges begin, but I won’t write about them until nighttime. The discussion of Day 1 really comes out on the 2nd of October.

SOOOOOOO, tonight is a free night.

And I’ve decided to use it to give myself a pep talk. A fresh start.

One of my watch-over-and-over-again movies is “Anne of Green Gables.” I just love Anne Shirley and how hard she tries to be good even though she seems to mess up pretty regularly. One of my favorite lines in the show is Anne talking to her “mother figure” saying, “Marilla, isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?”

That’s what I’m saying to myself tonight…tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet.

I’m not going so far as to line out the way I want my day tomorrow to look (it would NEVER work out, so why bother?) but I AM going to dedicate a full hour to creativity – art. Not to cleaning the studio, or planning a project, but to actual art.

If I can get that first day under my belt, maybe I can actually make this happen!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

8 responses »

  1. I love that quote, Janet! Great move to crank up your favourite Go To film to get you inspired.
    Wonderful that you’re joining us for Blogtoberfest12. Kat xxx

    Reply
  2. Pulling for you, Janet. Maybe you’ll pull me along as well. I also LOVE Anne of Green Gables! When Matthew buys Anne that “puffy sleeved” dress…gets me everytime!

    Reply
    • It’s one of those classics that no matter how many times you see it you still cry at all the same places…I’m a little concerned that I didn’t roll out of bed itching to get into the studio, but the day is young!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  3. Good Luck Janet, I’ll be cheering for you! But don’t be too hard on yourself… let your muse take her time and come flowing in!

    Reply
    • For some reason, I seem to need the pressure…give me an extended deadline, and I’ll take it to the max. I did play with some jewelry pieces today – couldn’t quite get myself to paint.

      ________________________________

      Reply
  4. My dear, you are FAR too hard on yourself. Of course it’s easy for me to see it for YOU and not for myself. Just have fun and do what feels good in the moment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

