RSS Feed

Day #29 CED – What Would You Take in a Fire?


A friend of mine brought up an interesting question…in case of a fire, do you know what you’d take? Do you have a plan?

I sorta mentally went through my house today imagining that we had an hour to get out, and wondering what WOULD we take?

There are some things that are no brainers – important papers that cannot be replaced, the wedding album…but beyond that, what?

I have more scrapbooks and pictures that have not yet been put into them than I could fit in a car, I think. But I’m sure they would be the first things out. I’ve put so much work into them, I just can’t imagine leaving them behind. I do need to get them a bit more consolidated, so they’d be easier to pack out.

The photos on the wall would probably be next. And there’s lots of them.

I can’t imagine that clothes would be too far up on the list…they can be replaced. Jewelry? I pretty much wear every day the things that mean much to me. My Christmas ornaments? Those I’d like to save. They are another form of a scrapbook. I pretty much know where every one of them came from.

The rest is just stuff.  I love it, as much as one can love stuff, I suppose.  But would I cry over losing any of it? I don’t know. I would be sad, but to the point of tears? I can’t be sure, but I don’t think so.

That comes as a surprise to me.

I thought I would be pretty much distraught, but now that I’m REALLY thinking about it, I’m not thinking I would be. Hmmmm. That feels kinda good. I have often been concerned that I love “stuff” too much. But after careful consideration, I can say say that I don’t. I do love it, don’t get me wrong. But I don’t love it too much. I’d be okay without it.

So, do you have a plan? Do you know what you’d be really upset about losing?

Today’s creativity? Continuing to clean out the studio, and I bought yarn for a couple of scarves… If I’m going to actually be creative every single day, I HAVE to have something that is very portable!

I also signed up for another month of creating every day on another blog! Get Your Art On! A friend mentioned that she was signing up, and sent me the info. Since I’m having such a hard time doing it on my own, I figured why not? I had to commit to an hour a day of creativity, starting on the 1st of October. Maybe being responsible to someone other than myself will help. It can’t hurt.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

6 responses »

  1. Hi Janet, I really love the “what would you take in a fire” question. It really forces us to fine tune our vision on what’s important.
    Thanks for being a part of Blogtoberfest, hosted by Cathy aka {tinniegirl} last year. Thought you might be interested to know that we’re running it again in 2012. You can find all the info at: http://isawyoudancing.blogspot.com.au/p/blogtoberfest-2012.html
    And we’re kicking off this Monday! Would love to see you there, if you have time…!
    Kat xxx

    Reply
    • Thanks for the invitation, Kat! Blogtoberfest last year is where I disciplined myself to blog every day and discovered that I love it! I’ll be happy to be a part of it again. Just signed up!

      Reply
  2. Good for you, Janet! How exciting that you figured out that it’s the sentiments and the memories that are precious.

    Reply
  3. we had a fire once it’s funny the things I saved were not what I would have planned to take. and those things lost replaced themselves without much thought. i used to be very protective of my photos and such. As they grew and took control of the scrapbooks baby books and random albums I actually found it freeing..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

