RSS Feed

Day #27 CED – Unhealthy Relationships


Do you have any unhealthy relationships?

I do. Well, not so many anymore. My worst one is a thing of the past – the one I had with food. A friend asked how I was able to get out of the relationship, and it really was surprisingly easy, at least so far. I may slip back into it, but I’m thinking not. I’ve had a few pretty stressful weeks, and I’ve managed to not take it out on my tummy!

Anyway, I got out of it by just deciding that I’m not going to spend the rest of my life participating in self destructive behavior. Having an unhealthy relationship with food is just being mean to myself, and I’m trying really hard not to do that any more. Plus, I REALLY want to be able to wear cute clothes again, before I’m too old to appreciate it!

Then there is my unhealthy relationship with “stuff.” I LOVE stuff, especially ratty, rusty old stuff. But I’ve got more of it than my physical space can handle. So, I need to get over this relationship, too. I’m not QUITE to the point where anything brought into the house has to have a corresponding thing leave, but I’m REALLY close.

And then there’s my unhealthy relationship with the internet. I am WAY too dependent on it. I am on Facebook too much, checking my various e-mail accounts too often, and reading too much about politics. I don’t have enough free time, and part of the reason is that I spend too much time on the stinkin’ computer!

There’s probably more, but these 3 are enough to need to work on at the same time.

The problem is, when you have unhealthy relationships, you can’t just ditch them. You have to replace them with something else. If you don’t, you’ll end up doing something impulsively, and that something can be worse than the original unhealthy relationship.

So. I’m trying to work out some new ways of dealing with my stress. Develop some “healthy” addictions. Is there such a thing? I hate exercise, but that’s certainly an option. Maybe I’ll learn to love it. I wonder if art would count? That I love already…feeling stressed? Do art. K, I like it!

How do you deal with stress? Any ideas I can borrow?

Don’t know if you’ve noticed, but this “creative every day” thing has been kind of a bust for me this time around. My commitment to being creative has slipped way down in my priorities lately, to the point that I’m getting mad at myself. Good grief. How hard can it be to carve out an hour a day for a creative pursuit?

Tomorrow is a new day. Creative. Tomorrow I’m going to do something creative.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

8 responses »

  1. ahhhh….there’s the rub….healthy addicitions……I am so excited that you have been able to redirect your food thoughts and I think you are onto something with ART – in more ways than one!!! xo

    Reply
    • Thanks, Renee! I am so sick of feeling like such a wreck! Jeez, you’d think that by the time you get to be 60 you’d be together enough to coast for awhile, but I guess that’s not going to be the case!

      Reply
  2. I think getting back on the wagon is the most important thing. If you couldn’t make time before, as you say, tomorrow is another day! I just started taking a yoga class because I needed to reduce my stress level. I had to take a class because promising myself I’d be better to my body didn’t help, but paying for a class means I drag my butt there!! As for stuff, well right now I am on a moratorium, no new art stuff except thread. I need to stop hoarding and love the stuff I have. But I’ll let you know how that goes!

    Reply
  3. Lol. You are so funny. Isn’t blogging being creative? I think that should count!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

