RSS Feed

Day #20 CED I’m Losin’ It!


Yep, I’m losin’ it…the weight, that is!

Finally.

I have had an unhealthy relationship with food for quite awhile. Then in January of 2011, I finally got serious about getting the weight off. Over the course of the next few months, I lost thirty pounds. Then I got  a little lazy and slacked off a bit, not losing any more, but not gaining any either.

Then I broke my ankle, and trips to the gym were history. Slowly I started to gain a bit back, but not enough to be alarming. Then I injured my back in a rafting accident, followed shortly by a rattlesnake bite, and before I knew it, I had put back on about thirteen of those hard fought lost pounds.

Some friends put together a little weight lost support group on line, and it took me awhile to start showing progress, but I stuck with it and started heading in the right direction. They came up with a nifty idea of counting out tokens to represent the pounds we wanted to lose, and putting them in a jar, then moving them from one jar to the other as we lost the weight.

My plan was to get back to the weight I was at after losing the original thirty before beginning to count the tokens (in my case these sweet buttons.) And so my jars sat and sat and sat, as I slowly went down.

Then all of a sudden, I finally made it! I am 1.4 pounds down from that original thirty, and get to transfer a button to the empty jar! Woohoo!

I’ve got a long ways to go (it doesn’t look like as many buttons as it really is!) but I’m making progress.

And the best part? My unhealthy relationship with food is a part of the past. It has been over a month since I put anything in my mouth that I didn’t intend to go there. No emotional or stress eating at all, not even through some trying times. I have been off sugar, off cheese (my biggest downfall!) and have been eating to live, not living to eat.

Next stop? Goal weight!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

9 responses »

  1. Way to go!!! Now share how you managed no stress or emotional eating???? That is still my battle! Love YOU

    Reply
    • I just decided that I wasn’t going to be self-destructive any more. Food is the enemy. Whenever I was tempted to eat something I shouldn’t, or when I wasn’t actually hungry, I reminded myself of that. And it worked.

      Reply
  2. Good for you! You really gave up cheese? I’m awestruck. I’ll think of your courage now, whenever a “cheesy comestible” nears my lips.

    Reply
  3. I love the button idea! Every day is a new day and you are on your way to a healthier you!!!

    Reply
  4. Weigh to go!! Your blog posts have been so positive these last couple of months, that I knew something good was happening in your life 🙂

    Reply
    • My life has been all over the map. I just try to not let the “not so good” or “awful” paralyze me for long. I’m getting better at pulling up the bootstraps and putting one foot in front of the other. And w/o using food as a crutch.

      ________________________________

      Reply
  5. Janet when you are ready let me know. I am telling you that you would easily lose those 13 pounds with my 24-day challenge 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

