RSS Feed

Say #9 CED – Bonding over ATCs


Today was ATC day! Yay!

I mentioned a couple of weeks ago that Hannah will be participating in this month’s ATC swap with my art group. Mama was working today, so it was our day to create.

Because my girlies are such amazing, supportive friends, she has SEVEN cards to do (seven ladies wanted to swap with her!) and she wanted to try a variety of techniques and different designs for her cards rather than do them all the same like I do.

I worked on mine while she was doing hers, and she kept looking over at what I was doing, asking about each medium I was using – several of them, the copic markers, the pan pastels, and using book pages, were new to her, but she had no fear! She tried a different medium on each card.

She started with just paint, then tried the book paper, the markers, and pan pastels… It was so fun watching her having so much fun. She finally decided that she wanted to try and copy my cards, so I encouraged her go for it. She did such an amazing job for a 7 year old and was so proud of herself! Almost as proud as I was!

Just needs to do her pen work, and she’ll be done! We’ll finish them up tomorrow.

Mine are still a work in progress, but I’m liking where they’re going!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

12 responses »

  1. How wonderful. I’m sure glad that I’m one of the seven — can’t wait to get one of her cards.

    Reply
  2. This is a great bonding time for you two…it also is a great giving AND fun thing for her to do. She is so lucky to have you as her Gaga.

    Jill

    Reply
    • Thanks, Jill…I’m JUST as lucky to have her as my granddaughter! I can’t even tell you how great it is to have this little person think I’m the bees knees!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  3. She truly is a budding artist! So nice she has you as a mentor. These are the moments in our lives that never end…in our minds.

    Reply
    • I’m hoping these will be days she’ll remember long after I’m gone. I remember fondly my grandmother helping me with my Girl Scout merit badges, although I was older than Hannah is. But, we have photos, so even if she doesn’t ACTUALLY remember, she’ll have the photos to look back on!

      Reply
  4. What a great “granny” you are! Hope I get that opportunity some day!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Mary…there’s a plaque that always made me laugh “If I’d known how much fun grandkids were, I would have had them first!” and it’s so very true. I’m loving nearly every minute of it!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  5. She is so cute and what a great job!

    Reply
  6. I can’t wait to get my Hannah card! She did a wonderful job! What a talented young lady she is!

    Reply
    • Both the girls are so excited! I did separate envelopes for them so they will each get something addressed to them in the mail! Thank you so much for offering to do one.

      ________________________________

      Reply

Leave a Reply

