RSS Feed

Checking In On “My Word”


My word for the year in 2012 is “Create.” My main goal for the year, rather than a series of “New Year’s Resolutions,” is to create.

I haven’t checked in for awhile to see how I was doing with it, but I was reminded a few days ago that we need to revisit our word from time to time.

I’ve been a bit up and down, sometimes going days at a time without feeling a bit creative. Had I thought about it a week ago, I would have been much less apt to think I’m doing okay.

But for the last few days, I’ve been back in the studio and having a blast.

Being creative makes my heart sing. It makes me glow, and fills me with a sense of well-being like little else does. I like me better when I’m being creative.

Somehow, in the busy-ness of life, creativity has become an after thought, or sometimes a reward for when I’ve done all the everyday boring stuff.

That has to stop. Creativity needs to be elevated to the same importance that grocery shopping and laundry have. It needs to be a part of every day, just as fixing meals, brushing teeth and washing dishes are.

Last year I did a month long blog hop about being creative every day, and although the habit of blogging every day has stayed with me since then, being creative EVERY day, has not. Okay, I guess, in a pinch, the act of blogging COULD be considered being creative, but I need to be in the “make something” kind of creative mode EVERY day. EVERY day. I may not complete a whole project in a day, but I am going to work very hard at making progress on one every day.

Create Every Day. Create. Every. Day. I can do this.

By the way, I actually did “create” the covers for the Inspiration Deck today. Start to finish.

Yeah. I “created” today, and it was a good day.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

6 responses »

  1. Good Luck with your every day creativity!

    Reply
  2. I like what you said about elevating creativity in importance. I tend to shoe-horn it in between errands and barn chores, cleaning cooking, running errands. I end up very frustrated. I am trying to make a schedule that will give me a block of time every day for art work. Easier said than done. We’ll just have to keep working at it, won’t we?

    Reply
    • It IS easier said than done…especially if you aren’t doing as a business that is integral to your family’s income. It is seen as an “extra,” and when time is tight, art time is the most expendable. BUT, not having that makes me a less happy, grumpier person! The happiness I get from it should count for something! Right?

      ________________________________

      Reply
  3. Keep going Janet! One day at a time. It is a great feeling when we create!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

