RSS Feed

I’m Getting The Hang Of It!


Well, I’ve been on my new eating and exercise program for nearly 2 weeks…two weeks of 10,000 steps every day, and less than 1250 calories – not a single slip. Not that I didn’t consider slipping, but I held on and made it to bed before anything bad happened.

So this is my 1st time away from home since I started, and I have to confess, I’d been stressing about it. I need structure when I start something like this. Lots of structure. Set meals, set exercise. Choice and diversity are not good things, at least not in the beginning.

So of course, my very first day required two meals at restaurants.

I pretty much rocked! Salad for lunch, then a bite of crisp flatbread and hummus, a salad and a few bites of risotto for dinner. It helped that the risotto was marginal, but the really good news is, I didn’t have to fight with myself to keep from over-doing. If anything, I had to convince myself it was okay to have a few bites. No wine, no dessert. LOTS of water!

Now exercise, on the other hand was pretty much a bust. There was a little walking in the airport, but that’s about it. I’m wearing my dotfit band so everything is getting recorded, but I didn’t even bring the little thingy dingy that shows you your steps. I don’t want to know. There’s nothing I can do about it until Monday, so I may as well not even look. No point in getting depressed. I’m just hoping that since I’m watching very carefully what I’m eating, the lack of exercise won’t hurt too bad, and maybe I’ll just stay the same rather than gain.

And I read some more of my Crazy, Sexy Diet book.

I have to say I’m pretty proud of me. It took awhile to get going again, but now that I’m ready, I’m ready.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

6 responses »

  1. Congratulations Janet. Love your enthusiasm. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Reply
  2. Good for you and congratulations! As soon as I get over this “bug” that I got on my way home from VA, I’ve GOT to start watching what I eat and get moving.

    Reply
  3. You’re doing great Janet! Stick with it!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Linda! My brain is totally in the right place for now. We went out to dinner tonight (Mexican – one of my faves) and I took a bag of Kale chips. Wasn’t even tempted to eat off the menu.

      ________________________________

      Reply

Leave a Reply

