RSS Feed

I’m Crazy and Sexy, (or at least crazy!) So Why Not?


I’ve been getting back into my physical self improvement program (otherwise known as a diet and exercise program, that I swear this time will be a life-style change.) Part of the program is walking 10,000 steps per day. Just a few days into it the weather got crazy hot, and my late evening walks had to be shelved…walking 2 1/2 miles in 100 degree weather just wasn’t going to happen. So, rather than scrap the whole thing, I started going back to the gym, where I could at least get on the versa climber and recumbent bicycle with arm thingy dingies that count like steps.

This morning I composed my whole blog post for tonight while I was on the bike. It seemed like a good post at the time, filled with my famous wit and tons of inspiration. I could hardly wait to get it on the computer. But, by the time I picked the little one up from school and got back home, I completely forgot what I had mentally written.

Seriously. I don’t even remember what it was about.

So. I needed a plan B. Crickets.

Sometimes when there is just no inspiration to be had, I have to completely forget about it and go on to another project. Almost always something will come to mind.

This morning I went to Barnes and Noble to pick up a book one of my girlies mentioned. One of the sub-groups of my art group is a bunch of us who are trying to support each other in our weight-loss efforts. It was in that group the book was mentioned – Crazy, Sexy Diet by Kris Carr. My girlie suggested that I not start reading it until I had a chunk of time because she was finding it hard to put down.

So with an empty evening ahead of me, I decided to read a few pages, hoping that in the recesses of my mind, something would be going on that would inspire a post.

By the time I hit Chapter two, I knew I would writing about this book! I am flat out amazed how the Universe works (um, do I detect the fingerprints of God here?) He keeps trying to tell me how flippin’ amazing He is, but I often forget, so He has to pop up and remind me!

Anyway, Kris Carr. This gal is a cancer survivor with a plan, and I’m loving it. Although she researched and studied and experimented because she had been given, basically, a death sentence, turned out she came up with a brilliant blueprint for good health, and it has saved her life.

It’s not like I don’t know any of the things she’s suggesting. I would be willing to bet that after reading only 2 chapters, I would score pretty high on a test covering the whole book. I am already a vegetarian, so she’s sorta preaching to the choir there. But, my eating habits could use some fine-tuning. When I’m not paying attention, cheese and crackers jump in my mouth, and I could seriously live for a year on pumpkin-pecan cheesecake. And give up coffee? I don’t know if it is even humanly possible, or if life would be worth living without it.

BUT, she grabbed my attention immediately with her bubbly personality and irreverent stories. And I’m hooked. I almost can’t wait to get out to do some grocery shopping and see if I can come up with a plan that will stay within the caloric guidelines I have set for myself.

As I get more into it, and start adopting at least portions of her program, I’m pretty sure you’re going to be hearing more about this book!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. Ha! I knew you’d light into this! I’m going to implement as many of her suggestions as I think I can handle…except coffee! That’s a deal breaker…but her plan is flexible and can be however much you can put together. Can’t wait to hear what parts you decide to do.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the referral! Ya done good. Yeah, I’m excited to get into the program part, and like you – coffee could be a problem. I’ll keep you posted!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  2. Fun blog, found you through the give-away post of Kelly’s. LOL, love this line…”When I’m not paying attention, cheese and crackers jump in my mouth, and I could seriously live for a year on pumpkin-pecan cheesecake. ” I can relate right down to composing a whole blog on my bike and then forgetting what it was about.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

