RSS Feed

This Thing Called Community


It was just about a year ago that I set out out on my creative journey in earnest.

I’d dabbled a bit before that. Signed up for a business class, made the decision to go to The Creative Connection. I KNEW I wanted to do something creative, but I had no idea what or how I would do it.

And then I found my community. My tribe. This group of women on similar journeys. Some were farther down the path, some further behind. We were thrown together at just the right time, under just the right conditions to bond to a degree none of us saw coming. It was with their support I started my blog, opened my Etsy store, and finally found the courage to pick up a paint brush. But little did I know we would help each other through illnesses, injuries, divorces, problems with children, husbands, weight loss…the list goes on and on.

I never even knew how important it was to have a community. And how it developed from people in similar creative pursuits supporting each other in their businesses to supporting each other in all areas of our lives, is just beyond my understanding.

At this one year point I will probably be doing several posts about the happenings of the last year, but I wanted to start by saluting my girlies and thanking them for being the wind beneath my wings.

I love you Fly Tribe!

And now, through my blog, I’m meeting even more wonderful women, many of whom are living parallel lives. I am just in awe of this thing called community.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. Oh Janet. I am actually choked up reading your post and thinking about my/our journey of coming together as a community of creatives and as women. I am in awe of what we have shared and how I personally feel like you all have your arms around me when I really am in a rough place. I thank you and the rest of our tribe more than you can imagine. I used to wonder how couples could meet and form a relationship on line, and now I know.

    Jill

    Reply
  2. What a community!
    We are a very special tribe, to be sure….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

