RSS Feed

“Being” May Not Be For Everyone


Okay, so here I go…just a little skitzoid again.

Yesterday I was musing about about the possibility of learning how to just “be.”

Today I realized that it is just fighting mother nature. Some of us are “be-ers” and some are “do-ers” I’m pretty sure that I fall into the “do-ers” camp, no matter how attractive the “be-er” idea may seem at times.

That’s not to say that one is any better than the other, just different.

Somehow I let myself fall into the trap of thinking that “being” is a calmer state of mind. That by allowing yourself to just be, you cause your mind to quiet, and somehow are better able to be in the moment. And for some people it works. But not for everyone.

I am pretty sure I was made to “do.” Trying to quiet my mind and just “be” is an effort in futility that leaves me more distressed than I was when I just let my mind go in ten different directions and “do.” I am much more “centered” when I am accomplishing something that can be physically measured – knocking things off of a to-do list, finishing a project – “doing” something. All the lovely thoughts in the world cannot replace that feeling for me.

So, I need to just get over it and accept what I am.

The truth is, I’ll rest when I’m dead.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

7 responses »

  1. The first sentence or two of your blog posts usually have me cracking up laughing. I relate so much. I want to be one of the BEers.. but I’m also way more a DOers type of person. My father always says you’ll rest when you’re dead… so I have that one figured out. Great post. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks, Suzanne! Seems like we have much in common! I don’t know why I always feel like in order to grow I have to be completely different than I am. Makes no sense!

      ________________________________

      Reply
      • It’s simple we just need to accept how we are… but it’s also hard not to compare ourselves and see all that is out there for us to do and the many different ways we could be. 🙂

      • That’s so true, but maybe I am just finally figuring out that for me, there are some fundamental things that I just need to accept. I can smooth out some rough edges here and there, but I doubt that I would be successful in a complete wholesale change in personality.

        ________________________________

  2. Your posts about this topic have both intrigued me, and made me laugh at myself; I recall being on a tiny puddle-jumping flight from one “rock” to another in the Pacific Islands, feeling so stressed, reading a book called “Be Where You Are”, lurching off said plane, only to discover I left book on “Being” in seat pocket on plane; and having to explain to laid-back islander in a very strained and anxious voice that I just left my book on “Being” on plane; could he please retrieve it for me before said plane took off for Lanai? He smiled a huge and laughing smile, gently, and went and got my book….I flunked “Being” island-style for Su-ah!

    Reply
  3. I struggle with this so much! Great post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

