RSS Feed

I Admit, I’m Addicted…


Let me start by saying that it’s not my fault. Well, not completely anyway. I have an addictive personality, always have had, and I think that is something you are born with. It may even be a distant relative of OCD.

My addictions and obsessions are numerous, but fortunately none of them are to anything terribly harmful (okay, I guess it depends on your definition of harmful!) T.V. shows, art supplies, garden decorations, shoes, kale chips, goat cheese…you know, dumb stuff.

And of course, now, the internet – Facebook, my blog and pinterest in particular.

I was slow in getting to my internet addiction. I had e-mail, and used it for research from time to time. Then I started political blogging back in 2008, when Talking Points Memo hosted reader blogs. I thought My Space and Facebook were ridiculous wastes of time. Before long I noticed I was on TPM a LOT. Well, actually, I didn’t notice it, Mr. Tattered did, and he was less than impressed.

Then TPM shut down the reader blogs, and those of us who had been on there regularly wanted to stay in touch, so we joined Facebook, and things sorta downward spiraled from there.

Before I knew it, I had signed up for an art business class, hooked up on Facebook with a bunch of crazy ladies who turned out to be kindreds, and here I am hyper-ventilating over the “potential” prospect of being away from the internet for a weekend! And it turned out I don’t have to be, so it was wasted anxiety.

Several of my kindreds suggested I just step back and take a technology break for the weekend and just “be.”

My pulse rate started rising immediately. I don’t think I know how to just “be.” Worse yet, I don’t think I even WANT to know.

Maybe some day. But not today. And tomorrow isn’t looking too good either.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

8 responses »

  1. This internet thing kinda sneaks up on you doesn’t it. If I don’t have my laptop, then I have my ipad and if I don’t have that then I have my iphone. I start hyperventilating if I forget the phone somewhere. Although I did feel better when I went on vacation and slowed down a bit.

    Reply
  2. Oh oh way more similarities between you and I Janet. You had me laughing with this blog post because I could see myself an awful lot. And the thought of being away from the internet too causes me to cringe. I’ll be going on a 5-day solitary retreat next month… and they have internet connection… I wonder if I will be able to stay-away from it? lol

    Reply
  3. LOL! I TOTALLY get you, Janet if it is any consolation 😉

    Reply
  4. I keep telling Mr. Cottage that he’s addicted to the TV and he keeps tellling me I’m addicted to the computer. Unfortunately, we’re both right. And I have to admit that my iPhone makes it even more addicting!

    Reply
    • We all have or little obsessions. Mr. Tattered is as bad about the computer as I am, he just thinks that because his interest is in finance, it is justified, where mine isn’t! Ha!

      ________________________________

      Reply

Leave a Reply

