RSS Feed

What Will Your Legacy Be?


The older I get, the more I think about my mortality and what kind of legacy I will be leaving. I think that ties into the issues I’ve been having lately…so much to do and so little time to do it. Sorting the important stuff from the crap. What do I NEED to get done while I’m here, both for myself and for my family?

How will I be remembered? What will my legacy be?

I can guarantee you I will not be remembered for my housekeeping skills. My house is clean enough to be healthy, (barely) but messy enough to be happy. I will not be remembered for having drawers with all my underwear folded. Or keeping my car spotless inside and out. I will not be remembered for leaving the house with all my lists and my phone and my grocery bags (in fact, if I ever left without having to come back at least once for a forgotten item, someone would take my temperature!)

So what will my friends and family remember?

I hope they will remember a passionate woman who knew how to have fun. Who loved deeply. Who was loyal and put their needs ahead of her own. A woman who would rather spend time creating beauty than chasing dust bunnies. A woman who adored her children and grandchildren. A woman who loved her husband beyond reason. Maybe even the woman who opened a tiny little store and turned it into something that mattered to the community.

That’s not a very well-defined legacy, and it is certainly not earth-shattering. I’ve got time to make it more. But I don’t know yet what more I want it to be. It’s worth considering. Even if I am fortunate enough to live what would be considered a long life, I’m in roughly the last quarter of it.

I want to enjoy my life, enjoy my family and enjoy my friends. I want to absorb as much as I can of the beauty around me. I want to use my gifts for good. I want very much to come to end of my life having used up every bit of my talents, and regretting as little as possible.

I’m not going to dwell on it. None of us know how much time we have hear on earth. But I’m going to try to run my decisions through the filter of how they fit into what I want my legacy to be. So far I haven’t figured out exactly how my art fits into it.

I’ve got a lot more thinking to do on this subject.

Do you ever think about your legacy? Do you know what you want it to be? I’d be curious to know if this is something only us older folks thinks of, or do you youngin’s think about it too?

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

10 responses »

  1. I honestly haven’t given much thought about my legacy. I’m just too busy trying to get all my projects finished that I’m working on. But if I gave it a bit of thought, I would hope it has something to do with me being very creative and artsy and influencing those around me, like my granddaughter, Sophia! She spends much of her spare time drawing and doing art. I’m so proud of her!

    Reply
  2. Yes, I too have thought about this A LOT! I have done caretaking, bookkeeping, and art making. I most want to be remembered for being kind, creative and giving. I don’t think my bookkeeping skills are going to be memorable ~ or that my files are well taken care of ~ or my reports show I’ve balanced to the penny. I don’t think I will be remembered for keeping up with the laundry ~ getting milk when we ran out ~ or that I let the dust bunnies go too long. But I hope I will be remembered for my quirky creative style ~ my use of silly throw away things ~ and by my wonderful new network of creative friends, who are all so dear to me. They call these the golden years ~ I think because we are old enough to really appreciate what we have ~ where we’ve been ~ and who we have become. Hugs sweet friend!

    Reply
    • Thank you, Linda! Yeah, who would have guessed we would be blessed with such an amazing group of kindreds at this stage of our lives? As you know, I have a tendency to over-think things, and I’m trying really hard not to (on this subject, at least!) but I think it is a worthy thing to at least consider…

      ________________________________

      Reply
  3. In our decision to have a child, “the L word” came up a lot. I have to say that I haven’t thought of it much in the day-to-day craziness with said child, but I DO focus on making sure I am giving more than I’m taking, if that makes sense.

    Reply
    • It does, and that’s great. I suppose our children, and our children’s children are part of our legacy. I raised two kids who turned out to be productive members of society, so that counts for something!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  4. I am right there with you, Janet. I actually have a cross stitch that says exactly what you did,” My home is clean enough to be healthy but messy enough to be happy” How funny is that! I guess that has been my motto for years. I had 3 kids in 3 years, so it has always been all about them. Now that they are grown there is time for me to be creative but some of my happiest times is when the whole family is together. I hope that is what they will remember about me.

    Reply
    • That IS funny! I had 2 babies in 2 years and a miscarriage the 4th or I’d have a third in 4 years. That was a crazy time! Now it’s grandchildren…thank goodness they like being creative!

      ________________________________

      Reply

Leave a Reply

