RSS Feed

Wasted Time? I Think Not.


From time to time, I have a pretty unproductive day. I get up in the morning with lots of big plans for what I’m going to do, but first I burrow into my recliner to drink my coffee and do my morning reading. I check in on my blog and answer comments, read the blogs that I subscribe to, check in with my girlies on facebook, and before I know it, it’s noon.

I have a protein bar, pour another cup of coffee, and vow to do just one more check in with my girlies, before I get to “the list.” Then I notice I have more e-mail, so I quickly check it out, and find an intriguing article, which leads me to another article, which in turn gets me thinking about a blog post idea, so I scoot over there to do a draft title and a few notes, so I won’t forget about it.

By the time I finish that there are 10 more notifications from facebook (and a couple are responses to my last comments, so I NEED to check them out, right?) We get to giggling about some silly thing, and there are more back and forths.

Then I notice a bird I haven’t seen before out in the garden, and grab the camera and head out to try and get a picture. The silly thing takes off as soon as I get out there, but I notice the bird feeder is empty, and the birdbaths need to be filled, so I take care of that real quick before heading back in. Then I go over to shut down the computer, and there is a chat message from one of my girlies. I sit down (just long enough to answer) and in the process see a great post about a new class that sounds interesting, so I might as well check it out.

Can you see where this is going?

Next thing I know it’s just about time to start dinner, and I haven’t even made it to the market, so I have to improvise. I toss together a little bit of this and a little bit of that, and I’ve got something approximating a meal ready.

Now it’s evening time, and time to get my blog post going…

Well, a case could be made that I wasted the whole day. I didn’t do one thing on my list. I didn’t even putter much. I basically spent the whole day chatting away and reading. And I had a whole hecka lot of fun doing it!

They say that wasting time is not wasted time if you had fun doing it.

I think “they” are brilliant!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

