RSS Feed

If You’re Going To Compare, Compare Oranges to Oranges


We all do it. Compare ourselves or our work to others.

I like to think I’m getting better at not doing it, but the temptation is still there, no matter how hard I try to avoid it.

But consider this.

If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain and bitter, for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.”
Max Ehrman

So, if you believe this is true, and I do, if you’re going to compare, then you need to compare oranges to oranges. There is NOTHING wrong with comparing the you of today, with the you of yesterday. In fact, I think it is a good idea to take your personal inventory from time to time to see how you’re doing in your development.

Are you working smarter today than you were a few months ago? Are you remembering the important things in life better today than you did last month? Are you taking better care of yourself today than you were last year? Have you taken classes and improved your craft? Are you moving towards being a better artist, author, mother, boss…

So compare away…just compare the right things.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

12 responses »

  1. Oh such a good reminder!

    Reply
  2. Great thoughts Janet!!!

    Reply
  3. I like this idea very much. Thanks!

    Reply
  4. Thanks, Janet. Now you’ve got me thinking!

    Reply
  5. Well said, Janet! Food for thought. Thanks.

    Reply
  6. This is so true! I do it every single time. I compare myself to the well-established knitting designers in my field and I always come up short…yet I forget to cut myself some slack and to remember that I’m still quite new and that I haven’t done the same amount of work to date. They’re as good as they are because of how long they’ve been at it, and I need to remember that I can be there one day too 🙂 Heck, this year I designed three sweaters and I wasn’t able to do that last year, so I guess I’m doing fine!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

